Bug when changing Project Type from Static Lib to Executable

General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
jiapei100
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 8:29 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
Contact:

Bug when changing Project Type from Static Lib to Executable

Post by jiapei100 »

Hi, Iran:

I'm not sure whether this is a bug. Or it could somewhere I went wrong but I couldn't find where I was wrong.


After I created a project of type Static Library, I can successfully produce a library out.

In Project Settings->Common Settings->General,
Output File: $(IntermediateDirectory)/lib$(ProjectName).a
Intermediate Folder: ./Debug
Program: empty because this is a static library
Working Folder: $(IntermediateDirectory)
However, when I change the project type from Static Library to Executable, and re-configure the settings:
Output File: $(IntermediateDirectory)/$(ProjectName)
Intermediate Folder: ./Debug
Program: ./$(ProjectName)
Working Folder: $(IntermediateDirectory)
I'm expecting an executable file can be produced and run, but it seems only an .obj file is finally produced in Debug folder.
What else should I do to make the project built into an executable?


Best Regards
Pei
Welcome to Vision Open
http://www.visionopen.com
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Bug when changing Project Type from Static Lib to Executable

Post by eranif »

Make sure that the option 'Linker is not required for this project' is not checked under 'Project Settings | Linker'

Other than that, if you have build problems - posting the *complete* build log is always a good idea..
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
jiapei100
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 8:29 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Location: Surrey, BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: Bug when changing Project Type from Static Lib to Executable

Post by jiapei100 »

eranif wrote:Make sure that the option 'Linker is not required for this project' is not checked under 'Project Settings | Linker'
I never tick this. Neither for Static Library building, nor for executable building.
eranif wrote:Other than that, if you have build problems - posting the *complete* build log is always a good idea..
Eran
Yes, you are right. After reviewing the build log, I made it run ...

Thank you Eran....


Cheers
Pei
Welcome to Vision Open
http://www.visionopen.com
Post Reply