Lost my CodeLite Environment Variables due to Power Drop

Post here wxCrafter related issues / features / bugs
ColleenKobe
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 4:31 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Lost my CodeLite Environment Variables due to Power Drop

Post by ColleenKobe » Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:12 pm

The power failed on my computer while I was debugging in CodeLite. When the power came back on, my Environment Variables were gone, and I get errors when I compile.

It's been a long time since I've messed with the CodeLite Environment Variables. I couldn't remember what they were.

I tried to recover them by opening different Codelite workspaces, thinking I'd cut-and-paste the Environment Variables in the other workspaces into my current project. No dice. The Environment Variables in them ALL are blank. Gone!

Then I tried to recover the Environment Variables by searching for the string "WXWIN:=C:\wxWidgets". I got hits in some *.mk files. I tried copying the following promising-looking statements into my CodeLite Environment Variables window:

Code: Select all

CodeLiteDir=C:\CodeLite
WXCFG=gcc_lib\mswud
WXWIN=C:\wxWidgets
But this is what I got when I tried to compile:
Failed Build--missing environment variables.jpg
And THEN, when I went to check the Environment Variables, they were gone! They hadn't been saved!

:-(

I don't know what to do. How do I recover and consistently save my Environment Variables? I do have some previous versions of the make files and other files in this workspace. Would one of those help?

Colleen Kobe
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5934
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Lost my CodeLite Environment Variables due to Power Drop

Post by eranif » Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:51 pm

Do you have the folder:

C:\wxWidgets\lib\gcc_lib\mswud or C:\wxWidgets\lib\gcc_lib\mswu ?

This is where wx-config will search for the installation.

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

ColleenKobe
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 4:31 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Lost my CodeLite Environment Variables due to Power Drop

Post by ColleenKobe » Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:54 pm

Actually, yes, both
C:\wxWidgets\lib\gcc_lib\mswu
and
C:\wxWidgets\lib\gcc_lib\mswud
are there.

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5934
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Lost my CodeLite Environment Variables due to Power Drop

Post by eranif » Wed Aug 23, 2017 4:38 pm

Check if you have envioronment variables WXWIN and WXCFG defined else where in the project.
Try: Workspace Settings->Environment variables and also, Project settings->Environment
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

ColleenKobe
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 4:31 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Lost my CodeLite Environment Variables due to Power Drop

Post by ColleenKobe » Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:16 pm

I just brought up my project in CodeLite, version 10.0.6.

I have one workspace and two projects.

Under Project, Settings, Environment, Additional environment variables, the big box is empty for BOTH projects.

Under Settings, Environment Variables, the default environment set is an empty black box with a cursor blinking in it.

Colleen

ColleenKobe
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 4:31 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Lost my CodeLite Environment Variables due to Power Drop

Post by ColleenKobe » Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:10 pm

I had to get started working, so I did the only two things I could think of to do:

1) I reinstalled CodeLite; and
2) For each project: I clicked the project name, Settings, Environment, and copied the following three settings in the big box:
CodeLiteDir=C:\CodeLite
WXCFG=gcc_lib\mswud
WXWIN=C:\wxWidgets

Then I Cleaned Workspace and Rebuilt Workspace.
I got a linker error saying that it didn't have a recipe to build one of my *.cpp files. So I removed the file from the build, and then added it back in.

I Cleaned Workspace and Rebuilt Workspace again.
Now CodeLite compiles and gives me all the error messages I was getting when the power crash happened. So I'm good. :-)

Thanks for your help, eranif!

Colleen

Post Reply