Where is CPPcheck output going to?

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
metamorphosis
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:03 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Where is CPPcheck output going to?

Post by metamorphosis » Tue Feb 02, 2016 3:50 am

Hi there-
in previous versions, I remember cppcheck showing it's results in a tab within the bottom area of codelite.
Running it in 9.1.0 (official release, Win7 x64) gives a readout of which files it's checking, but no cppcheck output. Does that mean there's no cppcheck errors, or is it putting the output somewhere else?
Thanks in advance,
Matt

metamorphosis
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:03 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Where is CPPcheck output going to?

Post by metamorphosis » Mon Feb 08, 2016 9:43 am

Can confirm CPPCHECK not working.
Tried the cppcheck external gui on the files and it showed up a few warnings, which did not display in Codelite.

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5934
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Where is CPPcheck output going to?

Post by eranif » Mon Feb 08, 2016 10:44 am

Looks like a configuration issue
Indeed, the default settings only shows "Checking file..." without any errors (note: CodeLIte displays the output as provided by CppCheck)
If you clear the options as seen in the below screenshot, it works (from the menu: Plugins->CppCheck->Settings)
2-8-2016 8-41-53 AM.png
Eran
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

metamorphosis
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:03 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Where is CPPcheck output going to?

Post by metamorphosis » Mon Feb 08, 2016 12:14 pm

eranif wrote:Looks like a configuration issue
Indeed, the default settings only shows "Checking file..." without any errors (note: CodeLIte displays the output as provided by CppCheck)
If you clear the options as seen in the below screenshot, it works (from the menu: Plugins->CppCheck->Settings)
Eran
Definitely not showing anything in codelite display, despite clearing those options.
Perhaps cppcheck module is not same version as sourceforge (v1.72)?

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5934
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Where is CPPcheck output going to?

Post by eranif » Mon Feb 08, 2016 12:45 pm

CodeLite comes with its own cpp_check
And it works for me... which OS? details will be helpful
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

metamorphosis
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:03 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Where is CPPcheck output going to?

Post by metamorphosis » Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:42 am

eranif wrote:CodeLite comes with its own cpp_check
And it works for me... which OS? details will be helpful
Eran
Win7, x64.
Didn't have a problem with prev versions.
I did notice that originally cppcheck wasn't an active plugin, and I had to activate it.
Other than that not sure what's going on.
I'd uninstall entirely including settings and reinstall from scratch to see if it changes anything, but I'm loathe to redo all my settings -
is there a way to back up all the settings to an external location?
Thanks,
Matt

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5934
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Where is CPPcheck output going to?

Post by eranif » Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:31 am

Can you post a screenshot of your output pane in CodeLite?
Do you have the 'CppCheck' tab there?

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

metamorphosis
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:03 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Where is CPPcheck output going to?

Post by metamorphosis » Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:46 am

eranif wrote:Can you post a screenshot of your output pane in CodeLite?
Do you have the 'CppCheck' tab there?

Eran
No Cppcheck tab,
screenshot below:
Image

Sorry for the long delay.
This is with latest weekly build.
Same platform.

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5934
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Where is CPPcheck output going to?

Post by eranif » Thu Mar 03, 2016 8:57 pm

First, enable the captions:

Settings->Preferences->Windows and Tabs->Hide docking windows captions

Next, click on the 3 dots button on the right side of the "Output Pane" and select the "CPP check" tab

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

metamorphosis
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:03 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Where is CPPcheck output going to?

Post by metamorphosis » Sat Mar 19, 2016 4:08 am

eranif wrote:First, enable the captions:

Settings->Preferences->Windows and Tabs->Hide docking windows captions

Next, click on the 3 dots button on the right side of the "Output Pane" and select the "CPP check" tab

Eran
Yup, that did it-
I think that option should be unticked by default, if it's not already (hide docking).
Thanks!

Post Reply