Recursively add files into codelite

General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
myk45
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:58 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Recursively add files into codelite

Post by myk45 »

Hi All!

Just installed codelite, and I'm starting to love it already.
I come from VS2005 + VAssist, primarily windows dev.
Now shifted to Linux. No offence to vi fans, I didn't like it :P

So, anyway, I have a massive codebase split across tonnes of folders.
Does CodeLite have an option to recursively add files inside a folder?

Please let me know,
Thanks!

PS: Going through FAQs also, but not finding this option. I am able to add only files under a directory, not recursively add files within folders.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Recursively add files into codelite

Post by eranif »

Right click on the project icon (on the tree view) and select: Import files from directory

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
myk45
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:58 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Recursively add files into codelite

Post by myk45 »

Thanks for the quick reply! Is there a limit on the number of files? I tried what you mentioned. I see a progress bar appear and go. But, I don't see any folders added. :(
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Recursively add files into codelite

Post by eranif »

No limit.
Did you check the folders you want to import? Also, make sure that the file extensions matches the files you want to import

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
myk45
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:58 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Recursively add files into codelite

Post by myk45 »

Ah i need to check the boxes. They were kinda hidden. Did that. It's taking ages! I have about 75k+ files.
It's stuck for a long time now.

EDIT: Complete! :)
Last edited by myk45 on Fri Nov 07, 2014 3:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Recursively add files into codelite

Post by eranif »

Never tried to import 75k+ files...
(At max, I imported 7K files)
So yes, it might takes some time...

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
myk45
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:58 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Recursively add files into codelite

Post by myk45 »

Yes, it took about 15 minutes approx(8 core i7).
But I'm impressed. Does this support option of doing remote debugging(ARM)?
If yes, I would be in tears(of joy) :D

Been struggling to find a decent tool for quite some time.
Thanks a tonne!
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Recursively add files into codelite

Post by eranif »

I am not an embedder programmer, but I think its possible...
You should be able to use gdbserver "remote debugging"
You can enable it from:
project settings->common settings->debugger

and then check the option: "Debugging a remote target"
Once you did that, set the IP/tty/port + enable the option "Extended protocol"

You will need to start gdb server manually.

BTW, please state your OS/CodeLite version in your posts

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
myk45
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:58 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Recursively add files into codelite

Post by myk45 »

Thanks a lot Eran! Yes, i will create a new post for further questions regarding remote debugging and will provide details.
Thanks!
Gibbon1
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 5:32 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Recursively add files into codelite

Post by Gibbon1 »

I've had remote debugging on an ARM working since version 6.1.

I have using PE Micro's gdb server and a PE Multilink debugger. (Actually most of the time I just flash the code and use a command line interface over serial) Most of the issues I've had with it has to do with the GDBServer not codelite.
Post Reply