can't use codelite after fresh install

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
mosin
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:02 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

can't use codelite after fresh install

Post by mosin » Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:08 am

Hi,

I just installed codelite on a linux from scratch based OS. I compiled wxwidget and this is what wx-config -- list outputs
gtk2-unicode-release-static-2.8
So, I guess my wx-widget is ok. I compiled codelite 2.2.0.3681 with default values. (configure && make && make install) When I run codelite, I see the splash image and the IDE but the splash never disappears and the IDE is unusable. The buttons do nothing. The menus at the top show their items but when I click on one, nothing happens. The only error I see is in the terminal :
/usr/bin>./codelite
Gtk-Message: (for origin information, set GTK_DEBUG): failed to retrieve property `GtkOptionMenu::indicator-size' of type `GtkRequisition' from rc file value "0" of type `glong'
Gtk-Message: (for origin information, set GTK_DEBUG): failed to retrieve property `GtkOptionMenu::indicator-spacing' of type `GtkBorder' from rc file value "0" of type `glong'
I'm not even sure this has something to do with the behavior of codelite...

If somebody could help me out with that, it would be appreciated.

Thanks!

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6055
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: can't use codelite after fresh install

Post by eranif » Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:33 am

mosin wrote:Hi,

I just installed codelite on a linux from scratch based OS. I compiled wxwidget and this is what wx-config -- list outputs

gtk2-unicode-release-static-2.8



So, I guess my wx-widget is ok
First, you need to have wxWidgets as shared library.
You should compile wxWidgets like this:

Code: Select all

./configure --disable-debug --enable-unicode --enable-monolithic --enable-shared
make 
make install
About the errors:

I am not sure that they are related to the wrong wx-configuration that you are using but it worth a try fixing it. Can you compile and run any wxWidgets application on your OS?

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

mosin
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:02 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: can't use codelite after fresh install

Post by mosin » Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:21 pm

I'll recompile wx-widget first. And to test a wxwidget App, do you have an idea of a small one i could easily test?

thanks

mosin
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:02 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: can't use codelite after fresh install

Post by mosin » Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:29 pm

Ok, well I'm using codeblocks and I saw that I could make a wxWidget project. So I did a basic one and it launches and works. So, it shouldn't be my wxWidget that is the problem.

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6055
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: can't use codelite after fresh install

Post by eranif » Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:37 pm

It does not matter if your sample can run with the current wxWidgets. codelite *must* have wxWidgets built as DLL / Shared objects - it will affect the event handling if not built as shared. Did you try compiling wxWidgets as shared library?

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

mosin
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:02 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: can't use codelite after fresh install

Post by mosin » Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:34 pm

ok everything just finished compiling. It works :)


Thank you very much! Hope I'm going to enjoy using it more than codeblocks!

mosin
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:02 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: can't use codelite after fresh install

Post by mosin » Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:18 am

Now that codelite works, I'm trying to create a new project. Console gcc one. Nothing too complicated. But, when I try to compile I get this error :
/bin/sh: mingw32-make.exe: command not found
I'm under linux, I was expecting to see gcc being used there... Where can I change this?

Thanks

DavidGH
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:26 pm
Contact:

Re: can't use codelite after fresh install

Post by DavidGH » Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:52 am

Hi,

It's a bug that crept into the last release. Go to 'settings -> build settings -> build systems' and replace 'mingw32-make' with 'make'.

Regards,

David

mosin
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:02 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: can't use codelite after fresh install

Post by mosin » Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:12 am

ah nice, thank you very much! I can now go a step further :D

Post Reply