makedi command not found

Discussion about CodeLite development process and patches
smartmobili
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 1:54 am
Contact:

makedi command not found

Post by smartmobili » Sun May 24, 2009 4:07 pm

Hi,

I am trying to use codelite to target wince devices (arm-mingw32ce toolchain) and after having inserted my sources files, I get the following
error :

----------Build Started--------
"C:/cygwin-1.7/bin/make.exe" -j 2 -f "static_libgynoid_wsp.mk"
----------Building project:[ static_libgynoid - Debug ]----------
make[1]: warning: -jN forced in submake: disabling jobserver mode.
/bin/sh: makedir: command not found
/bin/sh: makedir: command not found
make[1]: *** [Debug/GDAddrBook.o] Error 127
make[1]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[1]: *** [Debug/GDContainers.o] Error 127
make: *** [All] Error 2
----------Build Ended----------
0 errors, 0 warnings

Another suggestion is the fact that you you cannot remove multiple files from a project, you have to do it one by one and this can be very long when you made a mistake and had inserted lots of files.

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6042
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: makedi command not found

Post by eranif » Sun May 24, 2009 6:19 pm

I can see that you are using codelite under Cygwin.

makedir is located under C:\Program Files\CodeLite (assuming that this is the installation path for codelite).

You could:
1) Copy the file to /bin directory
2) Start codelite from the CMD.EXE environment (rather the bash environment)
3) Set the environment variable: SHELL=CMD.EXE
smartmobili wrote:Another suggestion is the fact that you you cannot remove multiple files from a project, you have to do it one by one and this can be very long when you made a mistake and had inserted lots of files.
A FR for this was already submitted https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=d ... tid=979963

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

smartmobili
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: makedi command not found

Post by smartmobili » Sun May 24, 2009 11:02 pm

eranif wrote:I can see that you are using codelite under Cygwin.
Actually my toolchain has been built under cygwin but that's all I use from cygwin.
eranif wrote: makedir is located under C:\Program Files\CodeLite (assuming that this is the installation path for codelite).
I have installed it in C:\gynoid\ide\CodeLite because I don't like spaces in path.
eranif wrote:
You could:
1) Copy the file to /bin directory
I did it but still doesn't work. I also have added codelite installation path in my env var PATH but doesn't help.
When looking at makedir dependencies I can see it depends on mingw and wxwidgets so I suppose I also
have to copy these files in my cygwin bin directory but this is more a ugly hack than a real fix.

eranif wrote: 2) Start codelite from the CMD.EXE environment (rather the bash environment)
Don't know what you mean because I am starting it from Start Menu->CodeLite. Do you want me to
open a windows cmd and start it from here ?
eranif wrote: 3) Set the environment variable: SHELL=CMD.EXE
Ok I will try but don't think it will help.

smartmobili wrote:Another suggestion is the fact that you you cannot remove multiple files from a project, you have to do it one by one and this can be very long when you made a mistake and had inserted lots of files.
A FR for this was already submitted https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=d ... tid=979963
OK great.

smartmobili
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: makedi command not found

Post by smartmobili » Sun May 24, 2009 11:23 pm

Ok I think I understand the problem because when I enter makedir in a DOS prompt, command is recognized.
Since I am using make from cygwin, make doesn't recognize standard windows path like C:\foo.
Maybe you should add a codelite options to choose style path (MS-DOS or POSIX).

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6042
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: makedi command not found

Post by eranif » Sun May 24, 2009 11:42 pm

smartmobili wrote:Ok I think I understand the problem because when I enter makedir in a DOS prompt, command is recognized.
Since I am using make from cygwin, make doesn't recognize standard windows path like C:\foo.
Maybe you should add a codelite options to choose style path (MS-DOS or POSIX).
Have u tried to set the environment variable to SHELL to CMD.EXE?

It has been reported to fix similar problems when using MSYS (MinGW Shall console), see these (search the forum for 'CMD.EXE'):
http://codelite.org/forum/viewtopic.php ... .EXE#p1174
http://codelite.org/forum/viewtopic.php ... .EXE#p1878

Maybe it will help for cygwin as well.
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

smartmobili
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: makedi command not found

Post by smartmobili » Mon May 25, 2009 1:43 am

eranif wrote:
smartmobili wrote:Ok I think I understand the problem because when I enter makedir in a DOS prompt, command is recognized.
Since I am using make from cygwin, make doesn't recognize standard windows path like C:\foo.
Maybe you should add a codelite options to choose style path (MS-DOS or POSIX).
Have u tried to set the environment variable to SHELL to CMD.EXE?

It has been reported to fix similar problems when using MSYS (MinGW Shall console), see these (search the forum for 'CMD.EXE'):
http://codelite.org/forum/viewtopic.php ... .EXE#p1174
http://codelite.org/forum/viewtopic.php ... .EXE#p1878

Maybe it will help for cygwin as well.
Eran
Don't seem to work on cygwin.
Weird thing is when I open a windows cmd shell; makedir seems to work (ignore error about arm-mingw32ce-g++):

C:\cygwin-1.7\home\Vincent\projects\gynoid\trunk\build\codelite>make.exe -j 2 -
f "static_libgynoid_wsp.mk"
----------Building project:[ static_libgynoid - Debug ]----------
arm-mingw32ce-g++.exe -c "C:/cygwin-1.7/home/Vincent/projects/gynoid/trunk/src/
GDAddrBook.cpp" -g -o ./Debug/GDAddrBook.o "-I." "-I."
arm-mingw32ce-g++.exe -c "C:/cygwin-1.7/home/Vincent/projects/gynoid/trunk/src/
GDContainers.cpp" -g -o ./Debug/GDContainers.o "-I." "-I."
/bin/sh: arm-mingw32ce-g++.exe: command not found
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

With cygwin same thing, makedir is ok :

$ make.exe -j 2 -f "static_libgynoid_wsp.mk"
----------Building project:[ static_libgynoid - Debug ]----------
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/Vincent/projects/gynoid/trunk/build/codelite'
make[1]: warning: -jN forced in submake: disabling jobserver mode.
arm-mingw32ce-g++.exe -c "C:/cygwin-1.7/home/Vincent/projects/gynoid/trunk/src/GDAddrBook.cpp" -g -o ./Debug/GDAddrBook.o "-I." "-I."
arm-mingw32ce-g++.exe -c "C:/cygwin-1.7/home/Vincent/projects/gynoid/trunk/src/GDContainers.cpp" -g -o ./Debug/GDContainers.o "-I." "-I."
/bin/sh: arm-mingw32ce-g++.exe: command not found

So don't really know why it doesn't work from CodeLite.
How does CodeLite call it ?

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6042
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: makedi command not found

Post by eranif » Mon May 25, 2009 10:54 am

Is the make.exe used from the cmd.exe and the cygwin shell are the same?
eranif wrote:How does CodeLite call it ?
CodeLite calls it exactly has it shown in the 'Build' tab - the only question is: which make does it picks, and thats depends on your environment.

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

smartmobili
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: makedi command not found

Post by smartmobili » Mon May 25, 2009 12:36 pm

eranif wrote:Is the make.exe used from the cmd.exe and the cygwin shell are the same?
eranif wrote:How does CodeLite call it ?
CodeLite calls it exactly has it shown in the 'Build' tab - the only question is: which make does it picks, and thats depends on your environment.

Eran
I have added CodeLite path in compiler PATH settings(Compiler->Tools->PATH) and now makedir works fine.
Why don't you add path to CodeLite by default in compiler settings ?

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6042
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: makedi command not found

Post by eranif » Mon May 25, 2009 12:51 pm

smartmobili wrote:Why don't you add path to CodeLite by default in compiler settings ?
CodeLite does add it on the initialization of the application, however this might get overrun by user updating the PATH variable (either from settings -> Environment variables.. or from settings -> build settings -> compiler name -> tools)

In both cases, when manipulating any of the system variables (e.g. PATH) it is recommended to use the form of:
Variable name:PATH
Variable value:$(PATH);<new paths goes here>

(note that I prepended here the $(PATH))
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

smartmobili
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: makedi command not found

Post by smartmobili » Mon May 25, 2009 1:13 pm

eranif wrote:
smartmobili wrote:Why don't you add path to CodeLite by default in compiler settings ?
CodeLite does add it on the initialization of the application, however this might get overrun by user updating the PATH variable (either from settings -> Environment variables.. or from settings -> build settings -> compiler name -> tools)

In both cases, when manipulating any of the system variables (e.g. PATH) it is recommended to use the form of:
Variable name:PATH
Variable value:$(PATH);<new paths goes here>

(note that I prepended here the $(PATH))
Eran
Hum actually now I get some other errors, make returns 127 ie it cannot find some command:

make[1]: warning: -jN forced in submake: disabling jobserver mode.
arm-mingw32ce-g++.exe -c "C:/cygwin-1.7/home/Vincent/projects/gynoid/src/wince/file.cpp" -g -o ./Debug/file.o "-I." "-I."
arm-mingw32ce-g++.exe -c "C:/cygwin-1.7/home/Vincent/projects/gynoid/src/wince/OS_GDAddrbook.cpp" -g -o ./Debug/OS_GDAddrbook.o "-I." "-I."
make[1]: *** [Debug/file.o] Error 127

my toolchain path is in compiler path and global path.

Anyway I won't use CodeLite for cegcc, I will stay with VS.
I will give it a try with symbian and iPhone toolchains.
I think it will be easier.

Post Reply