CodeLite hides directory structure

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
Conflux
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:49 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

CodeLite hides directory structure

Post by Conflux »

Hi, i imported a project to CodeLite using cmake, this project is organized in multiple folders, CodeLite recognizes it, the project compiles just fine, but the Workspace view don't show them, it just gathers everything in "include" and "source", i want the directory structure to be shown, is that possible? This project becomes very confusing to edit without it.

Thanks in advance.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: CodeLite hides directory structure

Post by eranif »

This is because how the CMake generator created the projects.
So its not really CodeLite fault (although technically its a CMake issue, you can complain about it here since I was the one who contributed the CMake generator ;))

A workaround (one which I am using myself when building CodeLite on Linux):
http://codelite.org/LiteEditor/WorkingWithCMake

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Conflux
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:49 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: CodeLite hides directory structure

Post by Conflux »

eranif wrote:This is because how the CMake generator created the projects.
So its not really CodeLite fault (although technically its a CMake issue, you can complain about it here since I was the one who contributed the CMake generator ;))

A workaround (one which I am using myself when building CodeLite on Linux):
http://codelite.org/LiteEditor/WorkingWithCMake

Eran
Ok, this tutorial is weird, it doesn't point me on how to import a make or cmake file, so i presumed that i would need to run cmake to generate a makefile and put it on the sources folder, where the workspace and project are, but CodeLite doesn't recognize it, when i build it outputs "No target pointed and no make found".

But now that I tried it, I had an idea, I'll just use cmake to generate a CodeLite project, just as before, and then, delete all the sources on the project and import them again.
Conflux
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:49 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: CodeLite hides directory structure

Post by Conflux »

My idea worked just fine, but i still have one doubt... Where can i select if it is a "release" or "debug" building?
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: CodeLite hides directory structure

Post by eranif »

Conflux wrote:Ok, this tutorial is weird, it doesn't point me on how to import a make or cmake file
Because it does not import cmake file (CMakeLists.txt) or Makefile.. it import source files from the file system

All you need:
* Checkout your source files into a folder
* Follow the steps in the tutorial (place the workspace and project files in the folder where you just checkedout your sources)

Its really simply:
* Import files
* Tell CodeLite to run 'make'
Conflux wrote:"No target pointed and no make found".
Did you run cmake to generate Makefiles?

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Conflux
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:49 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: CodeLite hides directory structure

Post by Conflux »

eranif wrote:
Conflux wrote:"No target pointed and no make found".
Did you run cmake to generate Makefiles?
Of course, but I don't feel like this workaround is necessary anymore, my workaround worked just fine... However, can you answer my other question? How can i select Debug and Release targets?

Sorry for disrupting the thread subject.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: CodeLite hides directory structure

Post by eranif »

In the "Workspace" tab there is a drop-down menu with "Debug" / "Release"
You switch from there.

Also, note that the project settings are different for "Debug" and "Release" so you might want to check that build commands are properly set for "Debug"/"Release"

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Conflux
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:49 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: CodeLite hides directory structure

Post by Conflux »

eranif wrote:In the "Workspace" tab there is a drop-down menu with "Debug" / "Release"
You switch from there.

Also, note that the project settings are different for "Debug" and "Release" so you might want to check that build commands are properly set for "Debug"/"Release"

Eran
Thanks, didn't saw it because cmake imported just one config, with a weird name, but yeah, not a problem for this forum... =)

You can close the thread if you want to.
Post Reply