How to set one Project to link to another while building

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
CTMacUser
CodeLite Curious
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++

How to set one Project to link to another while building

Post by CTMacUser »

(Sorry if this is covered somewhere in the documentation. Also, I hope the subject will help others when searching for the same problem.)
  • 32-bit Windows 8 Pro (originally Vista) laptop
  • wxWidgets 2.9.5 and CodeLite 5.2 (w/ MinGW 4.7.1) downloaded from SourceForge site
(I pieced together a version of the above, but erased them to start over; I'm new at CodeLite.)

When one has multiple projects in a workspace, how is the output in one project supposed to be added to the other project? And how is the second project supposed to have the first listed as a dependency? Hopefully with substitution variables and/or relative paths, and not absolute paths (which would have to change if I move stuff around). It should be possible; having multiple projects per workspace is COMPLETELY POINTLESS without this capability. Also, with a given configuration for Project 2, the corresponding configuration of Project 1 should be used.

I've seen hints about this capability on these forums, but nothing explicit here or at the wiki site. I put my unit-test support code in a static-library project, and about to make another (command-line program) project for the actual unit tests, but realized I don't know how to connect them together.
eranif
CodeLite Plugin

Re: How to set one Project to link to another while building

Post by eranif »

CTMacUser wrote:how is the output in one project supposed to be added to the other project?
Right click on the target project and select "Common Settings -> Linker" in the Libraries field, you can add libraries (or the output of another project...). Libraries are added as a semi-colon list