General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
CaptainEight
CodeLite Curious
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++

How can I view DoxyGen comments?

Post by CaptainEight »

Hi,

I'm new to using CodeLite. The features say the IDE supports "comment tips" using the doxygen system.

However, I can't see how to make your the comment-documentation appear anywhere in the IDE (apart from the actual comment in the source code, of course).

If I start typing out a function name, for example, the code completion works, and I get a little toolbox with the method signature, but the doxygen comment is not visible. For testing I'm just using, "/** Comment test */" above the function declaration & implementation.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks.
eranif
CodeLite Plugin

Re: How can I view DoxyGen comments?

Post by eranif »

Well, it should work without any changes / configuration.
Also, there is no need to place comment on top of the implementation, just the declaration.

This is what you should see:
1.png
Some code snippet and maybe an image showing what you are experiencing will be helpful
Eran
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
CaptainEight
CodeLite Curious

Post by CaptainEight »

It's a bit strange.

If I don't start typing the method name (e.g. just foo->), then I get a pop-up list of available options. If I select a method with the arrow keys, they I get the method signature in a yellow-tooltip box with "1 of 2" above, and some arrows. If I click one of the arrows, then the doxygen comments show up.

However, if I start typing the method name, as in your example, then I will only get a tooltip with the method signature. There will be no arrows up the top, and no way to see the comment documentation.