Double showed class members in symbol view. Bug or what?

General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
soMan
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:18 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Double showed class members in symbol view. Bug or what?

Post by soMan » Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:36 pm

Why Symbol View shows me the same functions two times? As I understand it gets info from class declaration and then it gets info from 'out of class' (Functions' implementations I mean). It would be good to not to see an extra variants which only overload the symbol view.
CodeLite r5627
Image
Funcs (declared) in class are bold. Defined out of class - not bold. It is one header file with template class in which declaration and definition should be in one file.

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5896
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Double showed class members in symbol view. Bug or what?

Post by eranif » Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:53 pm

The current SymbolView plugin is deprecated in trunk.

In trunk there is a replacement plugin "Outline" (the dll name is still the same SymbolView) it is a complete rewrite of the current
plugin. If you have access to svn trunk, please give it a try

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

soMan
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:18 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Double showed class members in symbol view. Bug or what?

Post by soMan » Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:34 pm

Ok, I will try soon.

soMan
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:18 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Double showed class members in symbol view. Bug or what?

Post by soMan » Sat Aug 04, 2012 9:39 pm

Using r5677. Similar (1 to 1) situation with Outline :( .

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5896
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Double showed class members in symbol view. Bug or what?

Post by eranif » Sat Aug 04, 2012 9:55 pm

Please provide a sample or a minimal way of reproducing it (doesn't happen here)

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

soMan
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:18 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Double showed class members in symbol view. Bug or what?

Post by soMan » Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:10 pm

Minimal Sample
Image

Code: Select all

template<typename T> class Sample
{
private:
	string m_str;

public:
	Sample();
	const String &GetStr() const;
};

template<typename T> Sample<T>::Sample():
	m_str("hello")
{
}

template<typename T> const string &Sample<T>::GetStr() const
{
	return m_str;
}

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5896
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Double showed class members in symbol view. Bug or what?

Post by eranif » Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:12 pm

I don't see the problem here...
EDIT:
erase that, I missed 'Sample' shown twice...

EDIT2:
And again, you have 2 instances for each: GetStr() 1 impl / 1 decl (bold is 'decl'), same goes for 'Sample'
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

soMan
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:18 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Double showed class members in symbol view. Bug or what?

Post by soMan » Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:16 pm

Don't you have a such problem? As I noticed it includes results from parsing the class inside and outside and shows then both parsing results.

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5896
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Double showed class members in symbol view. Bug or what?

Post by eranif » Sat Aug 04, 2012 11:07 pm

Its not a problem. The outline shows both implementation and declaration

And yes, it happens here as well, as it should

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

soMan
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:18 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Double showed class members in symbol view. Bug or what?

Post by soMan » Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:20 pm

Hm. I think it would be good to make a filter for displaying only implementation / declaration + a filter for not to display private members. Filter with private members should be created also for a codecompletion box (as in clipse CDT). If you are (or something else who reads it) ready to do it I can post a feature request related to this.

Post Reply