Building

General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
gano54
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:12 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Building

Post by gano54 »

Well, I've installed CodeLite today and I'll have to admit that it's quite good. Anyway, still being a high school student and actively involved in various programming competitions etc, I have the need to be able to build a single file, without needing to create a new project. Is there any way of doing this? Thanks in advance for your help.
soMan
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:18 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Building

Post by soMan »

There are no ways to do it in codelite like you want. You must create workspace and at least one project in it to compile anything you want. And it is not bad, because it is silly to run an IDE to compile one file - use terminal/console to do it: it won't take much time.
spaces
CodeLite Veteran
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 10:15 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: Building

Post by spaces »

Well, actually there is but it circumvents the whole IDE.

Right click on the tab of the file. Like hello.cpp. "Open shell at File Path"
Type in "gcc hello.cpp", then you have a.out/a.exe that you can run.
SlimFast
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 9:31 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Building

Post by SlimFast »

soMan wrote:because it is silly to run an IDE to compile one file
this is not true. First of all, the IDE you use to have highlighting etc... - so coding becomes easier. Second if you have multiple single files (like for student courses) it becomes "silly" to compile all the different files at the console and switch between them. An IDE is of help here, too.

Therefore it would indeed be a nice feature.
Post Reply