how to resolve 'target exec' error ?

General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
pigletcui
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 12:48 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

how to resolve 'target exec' error ?

Post by pigletcui »

a newbee questions:

what shall i do if i see the following ?

DEBUG>>00000050^done,changelist=[]
Debug session ended
No executable specified, use `target exec'.


david
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: how to resolve 'target exec' error ?

Post by eranif »

Make sure you follow the forum instructions on how to post properly (i.e. in a way that other might help you)

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=804
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
pigletcui
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 12:48 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: how to resolve 'target exec' error ?

Post by pigletcui »

Sure, Eran,

Thanks. my OS is Win7 64bit, CL is 3.0.5041 , not self compiled. full log:

Code: Select all

Using gdbinit file: C:\Users\dcui\AppData\Local\Temp\codelite_gdbinit.txt
Current working dir: C:\Program Files (x86)\CodeLite\test\TEST2
Launching gdb from : ./Debug
Starting debugger  : gdb --command="C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Temp\codelite_gdbinit.txt" --interpreter=mi ""
DEBUG>>set  new-console on
DEBUG>>set unwindonsignal on
DEBUG>>catch throw
DEBUG>>set width 0
DEBUG>>set height 0
DEBUG>>set print elements 200
DEBUG>>00000013-break-insert -t main
Debug session started successfully!
DEBUG>>00000014-exec-arguments 
DEBUG>>00000015-exec-run 
DEBUG>>~"GNU gdb (GDB) 7.0.1\n"
GNU gdb (GDB) 7.0.1
DEBUG>>~"Copyright (C) 2009 Free Software Foundation, Inc.\n"
Copyright (C) 2009 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
DEBUG>>~"License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>\n"
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
DEBUG>>~"This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.\n"
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
DEBUG>>~"There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type \"show copying\"\n"
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
DEBUG>>~"and \"show warranty\" for details.\n"
and "show warranty" for details.
DEBUG>>~"This GDB was configured as \"mingw32\".\n"
This GDB was configured as "mingw32".
DEBUG>>~"For bug reporting instructions, please see:\n"
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
DEBUG>>~"<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>...\n"
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>...
DEBUG>>&": No such file or directory.\n"
DEBUG>>&"set  new-console on\n"
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>&"set unwindonsignal on\n"
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>&"catch throw\n"
DEBUG>>&"No symbol table is loaded.  Use the \"file\" command.\n"
DEBUG>>~"Catchpoint 1 (throw)\n"
Catchpoint 1 (throw)
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>&"set width 0\n"
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>&"set height 0\n"
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>&"set print elements 200\n"
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>00000013^error,msg="No symbol table is loaded.  Use the \"file\" command."
No symbol table is loaded.  Use the "file" command.
DEBUG>>00000014^done
DEBUG>>00000015^error,msg="No executable specified, use `target exec'."
DEBUG>>00000016-var-update "*" 
DEBUG>>00000016^done,changelist=[]
Debug session ended
No executable specified, use `target exec'.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: how to resolve 'target exec' error ?

Post by eranif »

Open the 'Project settings (right click it) -> General -> Program' and make sure that you have an executable to debug there...

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Post Reply