General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
allynm
CodeLite Curious
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++

create and use a dll

Post by allynm »

Hello all,

I am very new to Codelite, but quite familiar with the MingW toolchain. I'm trying to understand what settings need to be made in a project to link to a dll or implib. Suppose I have created a dll and implib in one project in a given workspace. In another workspace and project I create a simple calling routine. How do I link to the dll in the first project? The calling program compiles successfully, but the linker reports that it can't find the dll. I have looked at the makefile and it appears to me as if there should be no problem locating the dll in the .DEBUG directory in the project where the dll was created.

I have tested the dll and caller using the MinGW toolchain using the Msys shell. The program runs as designed. So, it is clear to me that I'm not using the right IDE settings or perhaps the PATH environment variable is incorrect?

Any help with this novice question would be most appreciated. I've searched the forum and found some related materials, but haven't had success after reading them and trying to implement.

Regards,
Mark Allyn
eranif
CodeLite Plugin

Re: create and use a dll

Post by eranif »

Set the path to your DLL from:

Project Settings -> Linker -> Library Paths

And the name of the name of the DLL here (if you have more than one, separate them with semi-colon) :
Project Settings -> Linker -> Libraries

The name of the dll can be either a complete name (e.g. "libMyDll.dll") or partial name (e.g. "MyDll")

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
allynm
CodeLite Curious

Post by allynm »

Eran-

Thanks for the rapid response. I did as you instructed (actually, I had tried this previously) and the build failed with the message: "No such file or directory".