Can it be installed on CentOS 5.4?

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
ET3D
CodeLite Curious
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++

Can it be installed on CentOS 5.4?

Post by ET3D »

I have a work PC which I currently use which is running CentOS 5.4. The code development tools it has installed are pretty annoying, so I was thinking to install CodeLite. However, I'm far from a Linux expert (I develop on Windows normally) and I have no idea if any of the many install packages fit this OS.

I'd appreciate some help.
DavidGH
CodeLite Plugin

Re: Can it be installed on CentOS 5.4?

Post by DavidGH »

Hi,
I have no idea if any of the many install packages fit this OS
Nor have I: I don't test against CentOS. But the ones most likely to succeed are the fedora ones; probably those for fedora 14.

If they don't, why not build from the tarball? It's not difficult: install the CentOS wxGTK-devel package and dependencies, plus the xterm package if it's not already installed; then build CodeLite in the standard way. See http://codelite.org/LiteEditor/Download.

Regards,

David
evstevemd
CodeLite Guru

Post by evstevemd »

ET3D wrote:I have a work PC which I currently use which is running CentOS 5.4. The code development tools it has installed are pretty annoying, so I was thinking to install CodeLite. However, I'm far from a Linux expert (I develop on Windows normally) and I have no idea if any of the many install packages fit this OS.

I'd appreciate some help.
Have never used CentOs but since it is RHEL clone then I think check this post for installing wxWidgets from repos
http://joysofprogramming.com/install-wx ... dora-rhel/

I will quote for you
This package include files needed to link with the wxGTK2 library.(as described by yum info)
Let’s first search for the package

$ yum search wxGTK-devel
wxGTK-devel.i686 : Development files for the wxGTK2 library