General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
andy_westken
CodeLite Curious
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++

Platform specific (MinGW) linking?

Post by andy_westken »

Hi

I'm pretty new to Linux (Ubuntu) development but have done quite a bit of work on Windows using Visual Studio, so I know the basics of C++, etc. I found CodeLite while looking for a fully-featured IDE for Linux-based development which had good debugger support, and I am more than happy with it! :-)

I have been using the same CodeLite project files - via source control - on both my Ubuntu and Windows machines; using the MinGW tools on the latter. Everything was going really well with my little projects until I started to use regex. With MinGW I need to add the regex library (libregex.dll.a) to the Linker/Libraries option. But this doesn't build on Ubuntu.

Is there a way to tell CodeLite that I want to link to libregex.dll.a when I'm using MinGW, but not otherwise, without having to use a custom makefile (with a makefile I can use ifdef MSYSCON).

Thanks, Andy
eranif
CodeLite Plugin

Re: Platform specific (MinGW) linking?

Post by eranif »

andy_westken wrote: Is there a way to tell CodeLite that I want to link to libregex.dll.a when I'm using MinGW, but not otherwise, without having to use a custom makefile (with a makefile I can use ifdef MSYSCON).
You need to define a new build configuration.

For the sake of the example, lets assume that you have 1 project named "A" with a single configuration named "Debug".
So what we are trying to do is to add a new workspace configuration so that when selecting it, it will build without libregex.dll.a.

So we need to create a new "workspace configuration", followed by new project build configuration and "connect" between the two.

1) From the main menu: "Build | Configuration Manager..."
2) from the drop down button that says "Workspace configuration" select the option "<New...>", give it a name and close the dialog (e.g. DebugLinux")