debugging + assert

General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
HJarausch
CodeLite Veteran
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:54 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

debugging + assert

Post by HJarausch »

Hi,
I'm using 'assert' from the standard C++ headers.
When debugging a failing assert
- (under Linux) acts as a breakpoint and one can use gdb commands like 'where'
- (under Windows/MinGW)
- on a command line: I do see the assert message but then I get
"The application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in unusual way.
And using gdb's 'where' command just tells me "No Stack"

- when run within CodeLite an output window is opened and closed immediately,
so I cannot even see the assert error message.

Is there any way to have CodeLite under Windows behave similarly as under Linux?

Many thanks for a hint.
(This is quite import to my C++ students since the matrix/vector software EIGEN uses assert to track invalid indices in vectors/matrices.)

Helmut.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: debugging + assert

Post by eranif »

Have you tried enabling:

Settings -> Debugger Settings -> GNU Gdb Debugger -> Misc -> Break at assertion failure?

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
HJarausch
CodeLite Veteran
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:54 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: debugging + assert

Post by HJarausch »

Yes, thanks, that works fine.
... CodeLite is too mighty for me

Helmut.
Post Reply