executable file

General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
katia
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:23 pm
Contact:

executable file

Post by katia »

Hi,
Is there any option to make the executable in the Debug directory pause when execution ends?
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: executable file

Post by eranif »

It should be done automatically (default).

Right click on your project and select 'Settings...'
In the 'General' Tab, at the bottom there is a checkbox: 'pause when execution ends' (or something similar ;))

I am puzzled a bit, since this option should be enabled by default.

In the future, please remember to state your OS and codelite's revision (from Help -> About)

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
katia
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:23 pm
Contact:

Re: executable file

Post by katia »

In the output that appears on the screen it is paused (after running it), but it isn't in the file that is created in the directory Debug.
I have Windows Vista and revision 1927 of Codelite.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: executable file

Post by eranif »

Ok.

Please perform a rebuild (clean followed by build) and paste here the build output (from the 'Output View' pane)

Next run it, and paste the output of the 'Output' tab (from the 'Output View' pane)

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
katia
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:23 pm
Contact:

Re: executable file

Post by katia »

After rebuilding it : Current working directory: D:\CodeLite\project\test\Debug
Running program: le_exec.exe ./test
Program exited with return code: -1073741510
If I run it, the output is as follows:
Current working directory: D:\CodeLite\project\test\Debug
Running program: le_exec.exe ./test
I hope this is what you wanted.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: executable file

Post by eranif »

You are the second person who is trying to produce a 'test' executable and fails...

Try to modify the executable name to be some else?

You can that from: Project Settings -> General tab,
change the field:

'Output File' to be something else, like: $(IntermediateDirectory)/MyExe
and also, change 'Command' (at the bottom of that tab) to be: ./MyExe

Rebuild and give it another try.
EDIT: Can you please list here the content of D:\CodeLite\project\test\Debug ?

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
katia
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:23 pm
Contact:

Re: executable file

Post by katia »

It's the same.

D:\CodeLite\project\test\Debug contains the files main.o, main.o.d, MyExe.exe and the previous test.exe.
I have only the source file main.cpp.

Does this happen only to me, I mean the normal behaviour is the executable to pause?
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: executable file

Post by eranif »

Yes, it happens only to you...
Some more questions:

- What happen when u disables the 'pause after process termination' checkbox, does your application starts properly?
- Do you have any errors in 'Trace' tab?
- Can u debug your program?

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
katia
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:23 pm
Contact:

Re: executable file

Post by katia »

To your first question, when I run it, the output window closes after execution.
I don't have any errors in 'Trace' tab and I can debug my program.It exits normally.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: executable file

Post by eranif »

Ok, I tried to find similarities with the previous guy who had the same problem, the one that I did find:
You are both workin on 'D' drive.

Can you please re-install codelite on 'C' drive and create your project under 'C' drive as well? (just for the sake of the test)

Since I dont have 'D" drive on my machine I cant test it myself

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Post Reply