Direct Debuging app in OSX

General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
evstevemd
CodeLite Guru
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 7:36 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Direct Debuging app in OSX

Post by evstevemd »

I have been using CL for development in Windows/Linux and Mac and it works well (I have never missed XCode ;))
There is however this nagging problem for me that I have lived with for years.
In Windows/Linux I will just set breakpoints and hit debug icon. However in Mac I have first to compile, then run my own script to make an app bundle and then run manually via debug executable/process dialog.

Is that the only way? It is very inconvenient and time consuming process, and would like to avoid now if possible.

TIA

CodeLite 15.x
CodeLite is awesome, I just Love it!

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Direct Debuging app in OSX

Post by eranif »

Hi,
You can debug directly without the need of your script.
In the project settings, you can configure the 'Output File' field to:

Code: Select all

$(ProjectName).app/Contents/MacOS/$(ProjectName)
Next, update the fields:
Executable to Run/Debug to:

Code: Select all

./$(ProjectName)
And the field: 'Working directory' to:

Code: Select all

$(ProjectName).app/Contents/MacOS
This should do the trick for you.
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
evstevemd
CodeLite Guru
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 7:36 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Direct Debuging app in OSX

Post by evstevemd »

Thanks Eran.
$(ProjectName).app/Contents/MacOS/$(ProjectName)
This one implies I have a Package in Project Name. Does CodeLite do that automagically? Currently I use my own script to Package app into a remote directory (that involves convoluted processes involving install_name_tool due to dependency libraries not being found). I would love If I can configure CL to do that for me just as I can do with Windows.

CodeLite 15.x
CodeLite is awesome, I just Love it!

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Direct Debuging app in OSX

Post by eranif »

CodeLIte will create the path to the executable if it is not existed.
However, it will not run install_name_tool for you, you will still need to use your script for this.

For debugging, you don't need to run it, it will load without it
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
evstevemd
CodeLite Guru
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 7:36 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Direct Debuging app in OSX

Post by evstevemd »

eranif wrote:CodeLIte will create the path to the executable if it is not existed.
However, it will not run install_name_tool for you, you will still need to use your script for this.

For debugging, you don't need to run it, it will load without it
Thank you.
I will adjust the project settings accordingly

I saw Mac Bundler Plugin in the CL. Is there any documentation of what it does and what is missing in packaging?

CodeLite 15.x
CodeLite is awesome, I just Love it!

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Direct Debuging app in OSX

Post by eranif »

It just creates the folder structure + added Info.plist IIRC.
This plugin was contributed so I don't have all the specifics
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Post Reply