Error Message while trying to compile

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
AbhiKap55
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 1:22 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Error Message while trying to compile

Post by AbhiKap55 »

I just installed CodeLite for my Mac running OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion. I tried running a simple hello world program just to test it. I right clicked on the main.cpp file where I wrote the code and clicked "compile" and it compiled successfully with 0 errors. Then I clicked on "Build and Run" and it gave me an errors saying: "Code lite terminal error. could not set current working directory (error 2: no such file or directory)" I have tried deleting and creating new workspaces and tried re installing the whole thing many times, but it gives the same error.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I really need this working! Thanks!
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Error Message while trying to compile

Post by eranif »

please see the how to post thread (my signature)

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
AbhiKap55
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 1:22 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Error Message while trying to compile

Post by AbhiKap55 »

eranif wrote:please see the how to post thread (my signature)

Eran
I did. I'm sorry, what exactly would you like included?
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Error Message while trying to compile

Post by eranif »

The build log?
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
dirkmausf
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2016 12:50 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Error Message while trying to compile

Post by dirkmausf »

Hello Eran,

i have the same problem on 10.11. After i started the nicely build executable with "Run", it starts the codelite-terminal and the output is ok, but theres always a message box that says:

codelite-terminal ERROR
Could not set current working directory (error 2: Not such file or directory)

Since the executable is working, the message is bit annoying...

Any idea, why this happens?
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Error Message while trying to compile

Post by eranif »

codelite-terminal ERROR
Could not set current working directory (error 2: Not such file or directory)
Can you post the command that CodeLite executes? You can find it in the "Output" tab, it starts like this:

"Running program: /usr/bin/open"

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
dev
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 6:54 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Error Message while trying to compile

Post by dev »

Hi, sorry if I'm writing in an old topic, but this problem is getting me mad.
This is my output:

Code: Select all

Current working directory: /Users/dev/Documents/Prova
Running program: /usr/bin/open /Applications/codelite.app/Contents/MacOS/codelite-terminal.app --args  --exit  --wait  --working-directory "/Users/dev/Documents/Prova/Debug/" --title "./fsdds " --cmd ./fsdds 
Program exited with return code: 0
Can you guys help me, thanks in advice.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Error Message while trying to compile

Post by eranif »

what happens if you run the command from a Terminal shell?
Does it work?

Do you get any outstanding error message?

This is the command I am refering to:

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/open /Applications/codelite.app/Contents/MacOS/codelite-terminal.app --args  --exit  --wait  --working-directory "/Users/dev/Documents/Prova/Debug/" --title "./fsdds " --cmd ./fsdds 
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
dev
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 6:54 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Error Message while trying to compile

Post by dev »

eranif wrote:what happens if you run the command from a Terminal shell?
Does it work?

Do you get any outstanding error message?

This is the command I am refering to:

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/open /Applications/codelite.app/Contents/MacOS/codelite-terminal.app --args  --exit  --wait  --working-directory "/Users/dev/Documents/Prova/Debug/" --title "./fsdds " --cmd ./fsdds 
When I try to run the program this pops out

Code: Select all

codelite-terminal Error
Could not set current working directory (error 2: No such file or directory)
and I get this on the terminal

Code: Select all

/bin/sh: ./FirstProject: No such file or directory
where FirstProject is the name of the project.

I get no error messages.
BTW I'm on OS X

EDIT: I food the solution, had just to install Xcode and all now works.
Post Reply