Sometimes unable to load custom plugin

Discussion about CodeLite development process and patches
nikev
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 7:08 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Sometimes unable to load custom plugin

Post by nikev »

I've recently developed a small plugin on Windows using the Codelite 9.1 release repo, TDM 4.9.2_64-bit, and wxWidgets 3.1. Everything builds and all works fine if I use the update.bat batch file to copy my binaries to the CodeLite install directory. If I install CodeLite 9.1 fresh and copy only the plugin, then I get an error "Failed to load plugin's dll" which appears to be a wxDynamicLibrary error.

I've used the following build command to build wxWidgets:
mingw32-make -j8 -f Makefile.gcc SHARED=1 UNICODE=1 BUILD=release VENDOR=cl CXXFLAGS="-fno-keep-inline-dllexport -std=c++11" MONOLITHIC=1

Any ideas how I can load my plugin into CodeLite 9.1 without having to copy everything?
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Sometimes unable to load custom plugin

Post by eranif »

CodeLite 9.1 was not built with wxWidgets 3.1 (wx3.1 was not released at the time)
It was built with this wxWidgets repo: git@github.com:eranif/wxWidgets.git

CodeLite 9.1.4 (which I released few minutes ago...) is built with the official wxWidgets 3.1 sources (compiled with the exact command line and toolchain you used)

So you can:

- Build wxWidgets from the repo I pasted above and it should work
- Target your plugin to CodeLite 9.1.4 and later

(I would go for the later ;))

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
nikev
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 7:08 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Sometimes unable to load custom plugin

Post by nikev »

Thanks for the info! I will switch to 9.1.4.
nikev
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 7:08 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Sometimes unable to load custom plugin

Post by nikev »

FYI I was able to get my plugin to load in CodeLite 9.1.4 by following your instructions. Again, thanks for the help. :D
Post Reply