Patch needed when using wx3.0 without 28 compat

Discussion about CodeLite development process and patches
petah
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:04 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Patch needed when using wx3.0 without 28 compat

Post by petah »

np.

Btw since it's the default, do you recommend building with GTK_USE_NATIVEBOOK = 0 ? When it's enabled I couldn't close a detached TabGroup window via the UI (worked by hacking prefs). I was wondering if CL works better without native books... Nvm if it's a dumb question, I'll eventually try it out :)

thx & cheers,

-- p
main: Debian Jessie x64 + custom wxTrunk
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Patch needed when using wx3.0 without 28 compat

Post by eranif »

petah wrote:Btw since it's the default, do you recommend building with GTK_USE_NATIVEBOOK = 0
The default now is to build with wxAUI notebook (_not_ native book)
David fixed a bug today which is related to Tabgroups I am not sure if it is related, here is the commit message:
Tabgroups had failed to load or save properly since March (without anyone noticing...). This is now fixed.

Also, tabgroups are now also stored inside the workspace's .codelite/ instead of in a global one. This means that any previous tabgroups (those ones that you failed to notice weren't working) will no longer be found; they'll need to be transferred by hand to the new locations.
BTW, building without -DGTK_USE_NATIVEBOOK=1|0 will result is wxAuiNotebook (this was changed since 5.3)

Here is a complete list of changes since 5.3 that you might want to try out:
http://codelite.org/LiteEditor/ReleaseNotesCodeLite54
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
petah
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:04 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Patch needed when using wx3.0 without 28 compat

Post by petah »

thx, I rebuilt with default settings. The new Tweaks plugin sounds promising.

I'll shut up for today :)

cheers,

-- p
main: Debian Jessie x64 + custom wxTrunk
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Patch needed when using wx3.0 without 28 compat

Post by eranif »

Here is a example of what I using the tweaks plugin for:
tweaks.png
Eran
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
petah
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:04 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Patch needed when using wx3.0 without 28 compat

Post by petah »

really cool, I think visual cues are really important. My main project is client/server though so I need 2 CL instances; I hacked a patch to help identify what instance is active which I'll contribute as soon as I have time to clean them up (f.ex. taskbar overlay icon for the instance that broke to debugger).

cheers,

-- p
main: Debian Jessie x64 + custom wxTrunk
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Patch needed when using wx3.0 without 28 compat

Post by eranif »

petah wrote:really cool, I think visual cues are really important. My main project is client/server though so I need 2 CL instances; I hacked a patch to help identify what instance is active which I'll contribute as soon as I have time to clean them up (f.ex. taskbar overlay icon for the instance that broke to debugger).
Sounds great.
You should also note that we added new directive to codelite startup --datadir where you can specify a different "data" dir (the default is ~/.codelite) this way you can use 2 instances each will use its own settings and they wont get clobbered

I am also running 2 instances of codelite at work, one as "root" and another one as user "eran". The "root" is debugging some daemon processes which I can't do as "eran" - to help me identifying them, I am working on a small patch that will help me set the title. For now, the title is hard coded, I am thinking of providing some kind of "printf" functionality for example:

"[ $user ] $filname - $version "
The macros I had in mind for this purpose are:
  • $user
  • $workspace
  • $project
  • $filename
  • $fullpath
  • $version
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
petah
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:04 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Patch needed when using wx3.0 without 28 compat

Post by petah »

the macros are a great idea - right now I'm hardcoding the taskbar title with 'if (editor && !editor->GetProjectName().IsEmpty())'. I think many features like the 0- or 1-based column index could be solved that way without warranting UI accessors. Something like the Windows registry... but not as messy :)

-- p
main: Debian Jessie x64 + custom wxTrunk
petah
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:04 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Patch needed when using wx3.0 without 28 compat

Post by petah »

just saw the new frame naming macros -- awesome!!

cheers,

-- p
main: Debian Jessie x64 + custom wxTrunk
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Patch needed when using wx3.0 without 28 compat

Post by eranif »

Thanks for reminding me to add this to the http://codelite.org/LiteEditor/ReleaseNotesCodeLite54 Page :)

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Post Reply