codelite is moving to GIT

Post here any ideas/problems/suggestions you have regarding CodeLite's Subversion (SVN) plugin
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5797
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

codelite is moving to GIT

Postby eranif » Fri Feb 01, 2013 3:13 pm

Hi all,

As of today Feb 1st, 2013, codelite is moving to GIT instead of SVN

On windows, if you havn't done so by now, install msys-git:

http://code.google.com/p/msysgit/downloads/list

When installing, choose OpenSSH instead of PuTTY (PuTTY with git caused me problems, so this is an advise not a must)

to clone codelite's repo (Read Only):

Code: Select all

git clone git://git.code.sf.net/p/codelite/codelitegit codelitegit


Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
jfouche
CodeLite Guru
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:26 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Location: France
Contact:

Re: codelite is moving to GIT

Postby jfouche » Sun Feb 03, 2013 6:43 pm

Hello Eran,

I downloaded MSYSGit (Git-1.8.1.2-preview20130201.exe), but there was no way to choose between PUTTY and OpenSSH.
When I execute the command provided, I encounter :

Code: Select all

Welcome to Git (version 1.8.1.2-preview20130201)


Run 'git help git' to display the help index.
Run 'git help <command>' to display help for specific commands.
jeremie@HAL ~
$ cd /D/_perso/projects/
jeremie@HAL /D/_perso/projects
$ git clone git://git.code.sf.net/p/codelite/codelitegit codelitegit
Cloning into 'codelitegit'...
fatal: unable to connect to git.code.sf.net:
git.code.sf.net[0: 216.34.181.155]: errno=No error


Any clue ?
Jérémie
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5797
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: codelite is moving to GIT

Postby eranif » Sun Feb 03, 2013 7:17 pm

I just tried the to clone the repo as an anonymous user - no problem here.
2 things that I can think of:

- I am using different installer http://code.google.com/p/msysgit/downloads/detail?name=Git-1.8.0-preview20121022.exe&can=2&q= (which was the latest couple of days ago..)
I used this installer: http://code.google.com/p/msysgit/downloads/detail?name=Git-1.8.0-preview20121022.exe&can=2&q= , try it maybe it will make a different
- I am using ssh over putty, even in the installer you used there is an option to choose OpenSSH (by default):
git.png


Eran
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
jfouche
CodeLite Guru
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:26 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Location: France
Contact:

Re: codelite is moving to GIT

Postby jfouche » Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:06 pm

:shock:

I retried with both installer : I don't see the "Choosing the SSH executable" page ...
I just have :
- Select components
- Adjusting path
- Configure line ending
Am I blind ?
Jérémie
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5797
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: codelite is moving to GIT

Postby eranif » Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:46 pm

jfouche wrote:Am I blind ?

Maybe the reason I get this screen is that I have putty installed and it is in the system PATH environment variable? i.e. maybe this page is conditional depends on the current environment

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
jfouche
CodeLite Guru
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:26 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Location: France
Contact:

Re: codelite is moving to GIT

Postby jfouche » Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:57 pm

I tried the http protocol instead of the git one :

Code: Select all

$ git clone http://git.code.sf.net/p/codelite/codelitegit codelite


and was able to clone the project :shock:

My 2 cents if somebody encounter the same problem...

[edit] .. but it tooks 2 hours to clone it...
Jérémie
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5797
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: codelite is moving to GIT

Postby eranif » Tue Feb 05, 2013 4:43 pm

jfouche wrote:[edit] .. but it tooks 2 hours to clone it...

This is because the http protocol is *very* slow compared to the git / ssh protocols.
For comparison, cloning with git took me around 2 minutes

However, it should be relatively fast now to 'git pull'

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
petah
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:04 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: codelite is moving to GIT

Postby petah » Tue Mar 12, 2013 11:04 pm

are mailing lists deprecated or will the CVS list be replaced by git email notifications?

whatever lists survive, it'd be great to add them to the gmane archive. I read gmane lists via NNTP in my email client; it doesn't require formal subscription/registration for read-only and has cool features like spam-filtering, ignore thread, etc.

FYI:
http://sourceforge.net/apps/trac/sourceforge/wiki/Git
http://larsmichelsen.com/open-source/adding-email-hook-script-to-sourceforge-net-git/
http://gmane.org/subscribe.php

thx!

-- p
main: Debian Jessie x64 + custom wxTrunk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest