Page 1 of 1
frustrated setting up codelite on windows 7
Posted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 4:24 am
by richguy
ive been looking around and following all instructions and i still cant compile anything. i installed codelite , then installed MinGW then set the path, then created a new environment variable in codelite. but still nothing will compile . the option to build is greyed out and when i start the program i get this error
"codelite could not find any search paths set for the code compilation parser"
ive attatched a screen shot please help me!
Re: frustrated setting up codelite on windows 7
Posted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 8:34 am
by eranif
Some comments:
1) You need to have a workspace + project in order to be able to compile.
2) When modifying the PATH environment variable, make sure you do it like this:
PATH=$(PATH);C:\Users\name\path
Note that I prepended $(PATH) to the path using semi-colon (;) as separator - failure to do so, your PATH variable will be overridden by codelite (for codelite session only ofc)
3) To make it more easier on you, there is an installation which bundles codelite + MINGW (gdb/gcc/make/g++ etc)
https://sourceforge.net/projects/codeli ... e/download
4) To get rid of the message, you should set up the search paths for the code-completion (NOTE: if you install codelite with MinGW using the installer from the previous point, you wont get this message). Also, the message itself, directs you from where you can fix this
Please read this for more details:
http://codelite.org/LiteEditor/SettingUpCodeCompletion
A Video tutorial , with an older codelite - but the concept remains.
http://codelite.org/docs/VideoTutorials/HelloWorld.html
Eran
Re: frustrated setting up codelite on windows 7
Posted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:16 am
by richguy
thank you for your help.
i did use that installer that comes with mingw but i still got that error
i created a workspace and a project and tried to compile and run and i just get a command window saying "press any key to continue" nothing happening for output .
Re: frustrated setting up codelite on windows 7
Posted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:32 am
by eranif
What did you modify in the project settings dialog, especially in the 'General' tab?
Can you attach here the .project / .workspace file that you are using?
The reason I am asking is that the default settings would have execute ./nothin from the Debug directory, and not from directly under the source files.
Eran