CodeLite and Premake

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
fbronx
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:31 am
Contact:

CodeLite and Premake

Post by fbronx » Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:36 am

Hi,

I'm trying to use CodeLite to build my wxJavaScript project. I use Premake to generate makefiles and MSVC-files.
There is only one workspace with several existing projects. One run of Premake creates all these files. I could convert the MSVC solution file, but I need to add specific arguments for MingW, which aren't generated when I generate the solution file. I could generate a Makefile, but is it possible to create a project and use an external makefile? What's the best way to make wxJavaScript build from CodeLite?

Franky

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6110
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: CodeLite and Premake

Post by eranif » Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:59 am

Hi,

CodeLite works very well with Premake, QMake & CMake.

The best (and the fastest way) to build your project(s), assuming you are using some custom makefile or tool is as follows:

1. Create new workspace (Workspace -> Create New Workspace)
2. Create a project (Right click on the workspace icon to the left -> New Project), the type of the project does not really matter since u will be using your own makefile / tool, so the for the sake of the example simply choose 'executable'
3. Expand the workspace icon, and you will see the project icon (3 blue icons), right click on it and select 'Import files from directory', select the root directory where your files are located and select OK
4. Once the import is done, (you can expand the tree to the left to see all your source files) right click on the project icon, and select 'Settings...'
5. In the settings dialog, select 'Custom Build'. First, enable the custom build (Enable Custom build checkbox), now, fill in the commands you need to run for 'clean' and 'build', also, since you are using custom tool to generate the makefiles, enable the 'Makefile Generators' checkbox.
6. Select 'Premake' from the list, and enter the command that should be run for premake.

Click OK and close the dialog.
Now, to run premake, you can right click on the project and select 'Run premake'

and from this point on, you can build as usuall, (F7)

HTH,

If you need more help, I will be hanging in irc.freenode.net channel #codelite

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

fbronx
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:31 am
Contact:

Re: CodeLite and Premake

Post by fbronx » Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:28 pm

Thanks for the info. Everything works fine now. To ease the creation of all projects, I converted MSVC project files, and changed them to custom build.

Franky

Post Reply