Page 1 of 2
Search->Replace freezes computer
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:49 pm
by varnie
good day.
today i noticed that CodeLite IDE (1927 SVN version) freezes/hangs up my computer when i invoke Search-->Replace option in its menu and press "Replace All" button. tried several times (after reboot for sure) and got same results ;(
hereis "top" command output:
PID USERNAME THR PRI NICE SIZE RES STATE C TIME WCPU COMMAND
1196 varnie 9 8 0 83988K 58664K nanslp 0 3:30 101.86% CodeLiteUR
Re: Search->Replace freezes computer
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:54 pm
by eranif
Hi,
What did you palced in the 'search' and what was in the 'replace' ?
Eran
Re: Search->Replace freezes computer
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:01 pm
by varnie
"_stack" --> "g_Stack" (both without quotes, of course)
Re: Search->Replace freezes computer
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:03 pm
by eranif
I can see a potential problem here:
the replacement contains the 'find what' g_Stack so it maybe entered an endless loop.
Can u try this with 'match case' & 'match whole word' turned on ?
Eran
Re: Search->Replace freezes computer
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:13 pm
by varnie
now it worked well (it didn't freeze my computer), but i still have "_stack" words occurrences instead of "g_Stack" in my project's files.
Re: Search->Replace freezes computer
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:17 pm
by eranif
If you are working with SVN version, I will commit a fix for this soon (matter of hour(s)) - I will post here when a fix is committed in the SVN
Eran
Re: Search->Replace freezes computer
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:19 pm
by varnie
it would be just fine:) i'll be waiting for this fix. thanks.
Re: Search->Replace freezes computer
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:01 pm
by eranif
I cant seem to reproduce it here
I placed _stack in my file and replacing it with g_Stack does not hang my computer. What options are set in the 'Find/Replace' dialog?
I downgraded my version to 1927 - still cant reproduce it (my current version is 1968).
Can u please send me the file (or paste it here) you tried to perform the 'search and replace'?
Another thing, can u please specify which flag was 'On' in the 'Find/Replace' dialog (search backward, match case, whole word etc.)
Do you use any non-ascii characters? (German umlaut, Polish Multibyes chars etc.)
Eran
Re: Search->Replace freezes computer
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 5:08 pm
by varnie
now i've made all changes manually, but it is still possible to hang my computer while trying to make this "replace" action as described above with that settings.
eranif wrote: What options are set in the 'Find/Replace' dialog?
these are all cleared.
eranif wrote:
Do you use any non-ascii characters? (German umlaut, Polish Multibyes chars etc.)
Eran
yes, i have Cyrillic words in my source files as comments.
eranif wrote:
Can u please send me the file (or paste it here) you tried to perform the 'search and replace'?
one moment, i am trying to make a working code sample introducing this bug. i've made new workspace, created new temporary project within it, and copied one of my previous sources there and this bug with "find-->replace" still hangs my computer.
Re: Search->Replace freezes computer
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 5:50 pm
by varnie
okay, i have find out a minimal code sample featuring this bug:
Code: Select all
//ищем эл-т удовлетворяющий условиям
g_Stack.pop();
the Russian words in comment in first line are optional.
if i invoke "Find/Replace" dialog and enter:
Find What: _stack
Replace With: g_Stack
without any options flags configured
it will hangs CodeLite IDE... (tried several times).