Page 1 of 1
Input to debugger?
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2023 5:07 am
by mitrof
Hello,
I've got a C++ project using the Debug Adapter Client (lldb-vscode). CodeLite 7.1.0 Windows11 and MacOSX Ventura 13.2.1
All is working fine, but I cannot for the life of me figure out where to enter program input.
I see an Ouput/Module window and program output appears there -- no problems. Locals, breakpoints, watches -- all good.
However, if have a simple statement such as:
cin >> x;
where do I actually provide this input? The Output/Module won't take it. There is no console open anywhere where I can provide input.
Maybe I'm not seeing the obvious. All help would be appreciated.
I see the same issue on Windows and Mac.
Also, does anyone know whether it's possible to close some of these debugger windows? For example, if I wanted to close the Breakpoints or Threads windows, how do I do it? I can move them around, float them, etc. but not close them.
Thanks!
Re: Input to debugger?
Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2023 9:06 am
by mitrof
Update:
When I run a project in CodeLite 16.8.0 using lldb-vscode as the debugger I DO get a console application where I can provide program input.
This window does NOT appear with CodeLite 17.1 on Windows or Mac.
Thanks
Re: Input to debugger?
Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2023 10:49 pm
by eranif
The input is typed into the black console (CMD) that comes up (just tried that with v17.2 and it works)
Re: Input to debugger?
Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2023 11:39 pm
by mitrof
I'm trying to reproduce this as best I can.
Yes, I see that console in 16.8 on Windows 11
17.1 clean install - no console
Removed 17.1 and installed 16.8 - I see the console
Removed 16.8 and installed 17.1 again and I see the console.
I see no console on Mac using 17.0
I'll open an issue on Github once I get a better idea of what's up.
How can I install 16.8 on Mac to see if the same thing happens?
Brew isn't too helpful here
Another quick question: why separate input and output areas? Why not do it all in a single console as it's been done forever
Thanks
Re: Input to debugger?
Posted: Sat Mar 04, 2023 5:32 pm
by eranif
Re: Input to debugger?
Posted: Sat Mar 04, 2023 7:53 pm
by mitrof
Thanks.
I just tried it on Ubuntu jammy / CodeLite 17.0 and I get the same issue - no terminal when using lldb-vscode.
This was the first-time installation of any CodeLite version on this system.
I've seen the same behavior on Windows, Mac, and now Linux.
All with first-time CodeLite installations.
Are there any specific log files that would be useful to you when I open an issue?
Thanks again.
Re: Input to debugger?
Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2023 3:28 pm
by eranif
usually, depends on the version of CodeLite, logs are placed under:
~/.codelite/logs/
or ~/.codelite/
The lldb-vscode
log is placed under dap.log
file