Page 1 of 1
CodeLite on MacOS ARM64 system
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 10:50 am
by willliamford35
Whenever I compile C++ source files the objects are of the type AMD64 and will not link with my libraries that are all built for ARM64. I have tried to fix this by placing the flag "-arch=arm64" as a compiler option, but the IDE strips this off. If I do a compilation by typing in the CodLite generated g++ command using a terminal, the compilation is correct. Is there something I can set in the IDE to solve this problem?
Thanks.
Re: CodeLite on MacOS ARM64 system
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2022 6:50 am
by willliamford35
Re: CodeLite on MacOS ARM64 system
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2022 6:35 pm
by Jarod42
It would be fine to tell how it is fixed. For reference and for people having the same issue.
Re: CodeLite on MacOS ARM64 system
Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 4:52 pm
by RAD
I am having exactly the same issue and would be keen to learn how this has been fixed. Adding the flag "-arch=arm64" is indeed not a recognised compiler option for Codelite. I am running Codelite on a MAC Studio and installed it via Brew. Was a bit surprised to see that it downloaded "https://downloads.codelite.org/codelite ... e-x86_64.a", which might explain why its default is the X86 instruction set. Maybe this provides a clue, however I don't know how to steer Brew to download a dedicated ARM64 version (if it even exists).
Any help/steer would be appreciated!
Re: CodeLite on MacOS ARM64 system
Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 5:37 pm
by RAD
I found the following workaround that doesn't use Brew:
1) Directly download the version codelite-macOS_14.0-arm64.app.tar.gz from the archived downloads into the MAC downloads folder.
2) Type in the terminal in de downloads folder: xattr -cr codelite.app (this avoids the error message about the file being corrupted).
This works fine for now (with one exception that I will post as a separate issue).
The issue clearly seems related this brew statement:
brew reinstall --cask codelite-official
that apparently doesn't recognise the (Apple M1/M2/M3) -hardware it is running on and always selects the X86-version.