CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
cfreehill
CodeLite Curious
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++

Windows Memory usage

Post by cfreehill »

Hi,
I'm new to using CodeLite. I'm trying it as an alternative to Eclipse. I want to use it mainly as simply a c/c++ code browser. The source resides on Linux, but I run the IDE on WIndows and access files via Samba. I don't need debugging and compiling capabilities as I do those separately, though if I could make them work easily and reliably, I would probably do it.

But mainly, I just need a nice reliable editor. I like the ease of use of Codelite so far.

The problem is, after a while the memory usage seem to get out of control. The Windows task manager shows it starting at a few hundred MBs (currently, its 583MB). But after a while, it will show 3 GB, at which point it become unresponsive.

Working with the theory that some of the plugins may be the issue, I've disabled most of them. Currently I have only the outline and source code formatter plugins enabled. But I still have the issu

The version I'm using is 15.0.0 on Windows 10.

My question is, are there things I can do to prevent the runaway memory usage; e.g., setting I can set or plugins I should avoid using?

Any help you can provide would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Chris

cfreehill
CodeLite Curious

Re: Windows Memory usage

Post by cfreehill »

I've unchecked every Code Completion option and every plugin. Still, eventually, the memory usage goes up to 3.2 GB. :|

eranif
CodeLite Plugin
IDE Question: C++

Post by eranif »

have you tried accessing files in some other methods?
I am not sure why, but I would suspect that the samba thing causes issues with the code completion (the internal one can't be turned off for C++)

For example, have you tried using the Remoty plugin? https://docs.codelite.org/plugins/remoty/

Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
cfreehill
CodeLite Curious

Post by cfreehill »