Codelite 14.0.0 output pane not showing

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
Goose
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 8:47 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Codelite 14.0.0 output pane not showing

Post by Goose » Mon Aug 17, 2020 9:02 am

Hi All. For some reason the output pane is not showing at the bottom of the page as per usual, somehow it 'disappeared' and getting it back again is a struggle. Ive toggled etc but no luck. As you can see the view tab the output pane option is checked.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

DavidGH
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Codelite 14.0.0 output pane not showing

Post by DavidGH » Mon Aug 17, 2020 10:43 am

Hi,

Maybe it's there but very, very narrow. If CodeLite is not already filling the screen, try maximising it.

If that doesn't help, do: Perspective > Restore Default Layout.

Regards,

David

Goose
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 8:47 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: Codelite 14.0.0 output pane not showing

Post by Goose » Mon Aug 17, 2020 4:48 pm

DavidGH wrote:
Mon Aug 17, 2020 10:43 am

Thanks David, still no luck, I get a funny feeling goin through a re-installation is not going to solve the issue but I cant see another way. Thanks anyway.


Hi,

Maybe it's there but very, very narrow. If CodeLite is not already filling the screen, try maximising it.

If that doesn't help, do: Perspective > Restore Default Layout.

Regards,

David

DavidGH
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Codelite 14.0.0 output pane not showing

Post by DavidGH » Mon Aug 17, 2020 5:11 pm

I get a funny feeling goin through a re-installation is not going to solve the issue
It won't, as your faulty configuration will still be there.

Instead, delete the configuration folder e.g. on linux it's ~/.codelite/

Goose
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 8:47 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: Codelite 14.0.0 output pane not showing

Post by Goose » Tue Aug 18, 2020 9:56 am

DavidGH wrote:
Mon Aug 17, 2020 5:11 pm
Thanks David, as a complete novice to coding I can only wish to know what it means to delete a configuration file/folder. I have no Idea unfortunately. I do however appreciate your help. I can do without the pane but feel its a good tool for the learning process.

Thanks again for your help, been on stackoverflow and githup for weeks with zero help from anyone on the topic. Codelite a great IDE but for this issue.

DavidGH
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Codelite 14.0.0 output pane not showing

Post by DavidGH » Tue Aug 18, 2020 10:48 am

I can only wish to know what it means to delete a configuration file/folder.
:? . 'Delete' means kill, make it no longer exist in the file system.

There are various ways to do that. (It would help if you mentioned your platform (Windows, Linux, Mac) and its version; but) On Linux I'd open a terminal and do:
rm -rf ~/.codelite/config
or, if you don't have any Workspace things stored in ~/.codelite/
rm -rf ~/.codelite

Or you can open your system's File Manager, find the appropriate folder, and tell the File Manager to delete it.

Goose
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 8:47 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: Codelite 14.0.0 output pane not showing

Post by Goose » Tue Aug 18, 2020 3:38 pm

DavidGH wrote:
Tue Aug 18, 2020 10:48 am
Thanks David, I am running Windows 10 Version 1909, lol, delete is definitely something I can do computer wise.

My system has a 'file explorer' but finding the guilty folder is a toughie.

Thanks a million

DavidGH
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Codelite 14.0.0 output pane not showing

Post by DavidGH » Tue Aug 18, 2020 4:53 pm

After searching the forum, I can tell you it's %appdata%\CodeLite
Where is %appdata%? If you don't know either, it might be:
C:\Users\<name>\AppData

According to <the results of putting "%appdata%" windows 10" into google>, you might also be able to find it by entering %appdata% in File Explorer.

Goose
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 8:47 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: Codelite 14.0.0 output pane not showing

Post by Goose » Wed Aug 19, 2020 3:27 pm

DavidGH wrote:
Tue Aug 18, 2020 4:53 pm
Hi David

Ive type the following into my search block %appdata%\CodeLite, C>User>User>AppData>Roaming>Codelite which took me to a code light folder and when I open as attached screen shot.

Thought Id check with you first before I start deleting what I shouldn't.

Thanks
Gustav

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

DavidGH
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Codelite 14.0.0 output pane not showing

Post by DavidGH » Wed Aug 19, 2020 4:23 pm

The config\ folder is the one that must go but, if you delete C:User\User\AppData\Roaming\Codelite, everything will be recreated next time you open CodeLite.

Or, you can rename instead of deleting. That will have the same effect.

Post Reply