How to view Time Elapsed

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
Mcatanio
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 4:17 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

How to view Time Elapsed

Post by Mcatanio » Thu Jul 16, 2020 4:19 am

Hello,

I'm just learning Codelite and C++ and noticed in the course they had a Time Elapsed when the code was run in the compiler.

How do I enable the Time Elapsed information?

Thank you,

Jack
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 4:26 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: How to view Time Elapsed

Post by Jack » Sun Sep 06, 2020 4:38 pm

Did you get the solution ?

Rainmaker65
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2020 2:15 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: How to view Time Elapsed

Post by Rainmaker65 » Tue Sep 22, 2020 2:38 am

@jack - I fell across this post and I'm wanting to know the same information. I'm studying C++ onliine, and the instructor is using CodeLite...similar to mcatanio issue. In all the times he (instructor) Build/Run's his code, output goes to console, and so does mine. The instructor has an additional line in his output...immediately before the line: "Press any key to continue" and it shows an elapsed time for the program run.
Time Elapsed.png
That's what I WANT to display, but it doesn't.

This is the only thread I've come across that addresses that issue. Please point me in the direction that I can change a setting - hopefully - so that will show up.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Paul C.
Supposed Former Infatuated Computer Junkie

DavidGH
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:26 pm
Contact:

Re: How to view Time Elapsed

Post by DavidGH » Tue Sep 22, 2020 1:10 pm

Hi,

(I'm mildly curious as to why anyone would routinely want to know the time-elapsed.)

AFAICT there's no setting to do this, but I gather that the 'feature' is implemented only for Windows.

I don't know about OSX but, if it's important to you, on Linux you could use the 'time' command. In a terminal you would do:

Code: Select all

time /path/to/myprogram
and, if it's really important to you, I expect there's a way to change your project settings to prepend 'time' to its build command.

Regards,

David

Rainmaker65
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2020 2:15 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: How to view Time Elapsed

Post by Rainmaker65 » Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:37 pm

David...

I found out why it doesn't appear after version 13.x. It seems there is a security issue with a "wrapper," and subsequently, the feature was removed "somewhere" in the evolution of 13.x.

In using 14.0.0, that's why it's not there.

Alas, I don't want to regress to an "older" version of the software, just so I can get a single feature in my console output.

...And the reason I wanted that information was simply that I liked knowing how long it took the program to run it's course. There was someonewho presented this question, and he was going to enter a contest and it dealt with how fast the specified program executed. I can understand his desire, but mine was purely 'because I wanted it." LOL.

It took me a while, but I was able to find the info and even learned a little more about CodeLite in the process.

I thank you for your help and assistance.

Paul C.
Paul C.
Supposed Former Infatuated Computer Junkie

Post Reply