Compiler, Terminal, and Project Question.

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
chappykhmao
CodeLite Curious
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++

Compiler, Terminal, and Project Question.

Post by chappykhmao »

Ok, so I'm on linux and I'm relatively new to this IDE coming from Visual Studios. I have four important questions that I can't seem to find the answer to.

The first question is how would I set the compiler to default use the -std=c++14 or -std=++11 on each project by default. I know how to set it manually, but I don't want to do it every single time I create a project.

My second question how would I get my code to run on a certain terminal? So far I'm using the built in terminal CodeLite provides, but I want to use the gnome terminal.

My third question would be importing existing files. I have projects with many cpp and hpp files and when I seem to import all of them into the virtual 'src' folder in each project, it seems to not recognize my header files. When I select the 'New Class...' option it just creates a new one. And I am just confused in the 'New Class from Template' option. I just want to add files that are already created.

And finally my last question is a small one, but when I create a project, how could I just create an empty one. It seems to always create a main.cpp file with C code already filled out. It's kind of annoying.
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
IDE Question: C++

Re: Compiler, Terminal, and Project Question.

Post by eranif »

chappykhmao wrote:The first question is how would I set the compiler to default use the -std=c++14 or -std=++11 on each project by default. I know how to set it manually, but I don't want to do it every single time I create a project.
You can create your own template. Create a new project, alter the project settings by adding the -std=c++11 or 14
Next, right click the project and select "save as template" give it a name and use it for future projects