Page 1 of 1
Debugger on windows 7 not working
Posted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 5:22 am
by joecode
Am getting lost trying to make the debugger work. Just installed the latest version hoping that would help but didn't do anything. I'm looking at Settings->GDB Settings thinking something in here not configured right. But I don't know what that might be. Please see attached. Is there some kind of detailed logging get turned onto shed some light? Thanks for any help.
Win7 Professional 64 bit Service Pack1; CodeLite IDE 9.2.0
Am able to run a simple program but when I set a breakpoint and run the debugger F5 something is happening but it's not breaking.
Code: Select all
int main() {
time_t now = time(0);
char* dt = ctime(&now);
std::cout << "The local date and time is: " << dt << std::endl;
}
Debug build
Code: Select all
C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe /C C:/TDM-GCC-64/bin/mingw32-make.exe -j4 SHELL=cmd.exe -e -f Makefile
"----------Building project:[ PassString2 - Debug ]----------"
mingw32-make.exe[1]: Entering directory 'C:/Users/joe/Documents/CodeLite1/PassString2'
C:/TDM-GCC-64/bin/g++.exe -o ./Debug/PassString2 @"PassString2.txt" -L.
mingw32-make.exe[1]: Leaving directory 'C:/Users/joe/Documents/CodeLite1/PassString2'
====0 errors, 0 warnings====
After a few seconds a WerFault.exe window pops up:
[Window Title]
gdb.exe
[Main Instruction]
gdb.exe has stopped working
[Content]
A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available.
Path to gdb.exe C:\Program Files\TDM-GCC-64\bin\gdb.exe
Here is process tree when the WerFault.exe pops up:
Code: Select all
Name Pid Pri Thd Hnd VM WS Priv
codelite 9556 8 29 446 368852 88048 49624
node 6668 8 8 177 96372 24308 21460
codelite_indexer 10196 8 3 76 83768 6668 2672
gdb 10576 8 1 44 9172 2084 828
gdb 8176 8 3 96 123816 21096 15672
PassString2 1508 8 1 43 10272 1916 444
Re: Debugger on windows 7 not working
Posted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 11:49 am
by eranif
Looks like your GDB crashed... I am not sure what can we do about it
Which build of GCC are you using? ( I am using TDM-GCC-4.9.3/64 bit)
Eran
Re: Debugger on windows 7 not working
Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 5:16 am
by joecode
Hopefully there has been no offense by this very long delay in a response. Or at most just a slight offense? Had too many other projects going on at once.
Version is tdm64-gcc-5.1.0-2.exe from
http://tdm-gcc.tdragon.net/download.
Was hoping for find a lightweight compiler for C++ learning.
Re: Debugger on windows 7 not working
Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 11:10 am
by eranif
joecode wrote:Hopefully there has been no offense by this very long delay in a response
Non taken
Did you try using a different version of GCC?
Eran
Re: Debugger on windows 7 not working
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 5:50 am
by joecode
Gave it a try with
https://sourceforge.net/projects/tdm-gc ... e/download but still same results.
MIght have missed something with the CodeLite where a re-configuration is needed after uninstalling and reinstalling the debugger.
Re: Debugger on windows 7 not working
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 9:50 am
by eranif
Once you install a new compiler, you need to "tell" CodeLite about it from:
Settings->Build Settings, and click on the "Scan for new compilers on this machine" button
CodeLite should pick you new compiler.
Next, right click on the project settings->general page, and under "Compiler" field, select the newly installed compiler.
(The gdb is part of the compiler toolchain, so when changing the compiler for the project you are also changing the compiler that it will use)
Eran
Re: Debugger on windows 7 not working
Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 5:42 am
by joecode
Uninstalled CodeLite and GCC and then reinstalled both. When running in debug it hangs for about 15 seconds then dies. No visible feedback that something went wrong. Took a look at eventviewer and saw lots of errors. I'm thinking these errors were being logged all along. It says something about the exception happening at offset 00000000001ecd1f.
My machine has a full blown C++ Visual Studio 2015 on it. Maybe this is messing up the CodeLite debugger? I originally tried working with VS 2015 C++ IDE but it was just too confusing to figure out how to make a simple stripped down bare bones C++ program.
##### EVENTVIEWER #####
Fault bucket , type 0
Event Name: APPCRASH
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0
Problem signature:
P1: gdb.exe
P2: 0.0.0.0
P3: 6c6c6163
P4: gdb.exe
P5: 0.0.0.0
P6: 6c6c6163
P7: 40000015
P8: 00000000001ecd1f
P9:
P10:
Attached files:
These files may be available here:
C:\Users\joe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\AppCrash_gdb.exe_488fc55ace39d56fe7860c131af36be5457891_43284460
### CONTENTS OF THE CRASH FILE:
### AppCrash_gdb.exe_488fc55ace39d56fe7860c131af36be5457891_43284460
Version=1
EventType=APPCRASH
EventTime=131147461379242752
ReportType=2
Consent=1
UploadTime=131147461379562770
ReportIdentifier=16590d3d-59df-11e6-9990-c81f660f1bc6
IntegratorReportIdentifier=16590d3c-59df-11e6-9990-c81f660f1bc6
Response.type=4
Sig[0].Name=Application Name
Sig[0].Value=gdb.exe
Sig[1].Name=Application Version
Sig[1].Value=0.0.0.0
Sig[2].Name=Application Timestamp
Sig[2].Value=6c6c6163
Sig[3].Name=Fault Module Name
Sig[3].Value=gdb.exe
Sig[4].Name=Fault Module Version
Sig[4].Value=0.0.0.0
Sig[5].Name=Fault Module Timestamp
Sig[5].Value=6c6c6163
Sig[6].Name=Exception Code
Sig[6].Value=40000015
Sig[7].Name=Exception Offset
Sig[7].Value=00000000001ecd1f
DynamicSig[1].Name=OS Version
DynamicSig[1].Value=6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
DynamicSig[2].Name=Locale ID
DynamicSig[2].Value=1033
DynamicSig[22].Name=Additional Information 1
DynamicSig[22].Value=a953
DynamicSig[23].Name=Additional Information 2
DynamicSig[23].Value=a953ee83a28be1f063cea55833098379
DynamicSig[24].Name=Additional Information 3
DynamicSig[24].Value=a4a5
DynamicSig[25].Name=Additional Information 4
DynamicSig[25].Value=a4a5cd3a76722c4efabf27f81c461678
UI[2]=C:\TDM-GCC-64\gdb64\bin\gdb.exe
UI[3]=gdb.exe has stopped working
UI[4]=Windows can check online for a solution to the problem.
UI[5]=Check online for a solution and close the program
UI[6]=Check online for a solution later and close the program
UI[7]=Close the program
LoadedModule[0]=C:\TDM-GCC-64\gdb64\bin\gdb.exe
LoadedModule[1]=C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
LoadedModule[2]=C:\Windows\system32\kernel32.dll
LoadedModule[3]=C:\Windows\system32\KERNELBASE.dll
LoadedModule[4]=C:\TDM-GCC-64\gdb64\bin\python27.dll
LoadedModule[5]=C:\Windows\system32\USER32.dll
LoadedModule[6]=C:\Windows\system32\GDI32.dll
LoadedModule[7]=C:\Windows\system32\LPK.dll
LoadedModule[8]=C:\Windows\system32\USP10.dll
LoadedModule[9]=C:\Windows\system32\msvcrt.dll
LoadedModule[10]=C:\Windows\system32\ADVAPI32.dll
LoadedModule[11]=C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\sechost.dll
LoadedModule[12]=C:\Windows\system32\RPCRT4.dll
LoadedModule[13]=C:\Windows\system32\SHELL32.dll
LoadedModule[14]=C:\Windows\system32\SHLWAPI.dll
LoadedModule[15]=C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.6161_none_08e61857a83bc251\MSVCR90.dll
LoadedModule[16]=C:\Windows\system32\WS2_32.dll
LoadedModule[17]=C:\Windows\system32\NSI.dll
LoadedModule[18]=C:\Windows\system32\IMM32.DLL
LoadedModule[19]=C:\Windows\system32\MSCTF.dll
LoadedModule[20]=C:\Windows\system32\psapi.dll
LoadedModule[21]=C:\Windows\system32\apphelp.dll
FriendlyEventName=Stopped working
ConsentKey=APPCRASH
AppName=gdb.exe
AppPath=C:\TDM-GCC-64\gdb64\bin\gdb.exe
Re: Debugger on windows 7 not working
Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 11:40 am
by eranif
You should report this to the GDB team, it's useless to report it here
Eran
Re: Debugger on windows 7 not working
Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:28 am
by joecode
Ok will see if I can taker it to GDB team. Thanks for your responses.