Page 1 of 1

cygwin gcc no such file error

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:16 pm
by R12345
I am trying to use a cygwin gcc compiler.
When I build I get a "No such file or directory" error, but the file exists!
If I use a batch file to launch the compiler it works fine, so I know all the paths are correct.

Code: Select all

C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe /c "mingw32-make -e -f  Makefile"
----------Building project:[ test_1 - Debug ]----------
mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory 'C:/Users/user.name/Documents/CodeLite/Workspace/test_1'
C:/cygwin/opt/crosstool/gcc-3.3.4-glibc-2.3.2/arm-unknown-linux-gnu/arm-unknown-linux-gnu/bin/gcc.exe  -c  "C:/Users/user.name/Documents/CodeLite/Workspace/test_1/main.c" -g -O0 -Wall  -o ./Debug/main.c.o -I. -I.
gcc: C:/Users/user.name/Documents/CodeLite/Workspace/test_1/main.c -g: No such file or directory
gcc: no input files
mingw32-make[1]: *** [Debug/main.c.o] Error 1
mingw32-make: *** [All] Error 2
test_1.mk:94: recipe for target 'Debug/main.c.o' failed
mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory 'C:/Users/user.name/Documents/CodeLite/Workspace/test_1'
Makefile:4: recipe for target 'All' failed
1 errors, 0 warnings

I have no idea what to do.
I am using Windows 7-64. Does CodeLite only work on Linux?

Re: cygwin gcc no such file error

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:31 pm
by eranif
You need to start codelite from within the cygwin terminal. In addition, make sure that you have selected the cygwin compiler in the project settings

Re: cygwin gcc no such file error

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:46 pm
by R12345
Thank you eranif.
I am not sure what you are telling me to do. Are you saying that I must run CodeLite in a Linux emulator? That what I am attempting to do is impossible?
The cygwin terminal is an emulation of the Linux command line. It cannot launch a GUI program as far as I know.

Re: cygwin gcc no such file error

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:56 pm
by eranif
R12345 wrote:Are you saying that I must run CodeLite in a Linux emulator?
Its not a Linux emulator, its just a bash console with Linux utilities and understanding the Linux paths
You can run codelite from within it (and this is the recommended way of doing it)
R12345 wrote:It cannot launch a GUI program as far as I know
Yes it can

see attached screenshot to see what I meant
codelite-cygwin.png
Eran