Page 1 of 1

MingW 4.3.0 and GDB 6.8-3 problems

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:50 am
by merlin3000
Ive recently tried to use use MingW 4.3.0 and it's compiling :) (the only hard part was to find the "ext" lib that by some weird event got it self in the gcc-java package)

But when I try to debug (gdb 6.8-3) it starts ok but then presents errors:

Code: Select all

Debug session started successfully!
GNU gdb 6.8
Copyright (C) 2008 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "i686-pc-mingw32"...
set  new-console on
Debuggee process ID: 4484
set unwindonsignal on
set width 0
set height 0
Continuing...
[New thread 4484.0x490]
Error: dll starting at 0x76ec0000 not found.
Error: dll starting at 0x76db0000 not found.
Error: dll starting at 0x76ec0000 not found.
Error: dll starting at 0x77290000 not found.
Program exited normally.
Debug session ended
I've posted the whole log because it's kind of small.

As anyone had this problem before? I really can't see what is the problem. I've added the mingw\bin folder to the PATH in environment variables, and the gdb.exe path in the debugger settings. I'm sure it's probably something simple, like some file out of the place or some path badly specified but I can't seem to solve this.

Re: MingW 4.3.0 and GDB 6.8-3 problems

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:57 am
by eranif
I think you can safely ignore these errors, however, if the debugger does not stop in breakpoints, try to re-compile your project with -gstab instead of -g
http://codelite.org/forum/viewtopic.php ... gstab#p940
Eran

Re: MingW 4.3.0 and GDB 6.8-3 problems

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 7:21 am
by merlin3000
Wow I was not waiting for an answer that fast. That was really cool :) the best of all it worked. My problem was in fact the debugger not stopping in breakpoints. The coolest thing is that now it works even without the -gstabs. I've created a new workspace and project to check if it was really working and by some strange reason (for me at least) it works.

Thanks a lot for the answer so quickly.