Can't debug

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
cy007
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:25 am
Contact:

Can't debug

Post by cy007 » Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:32 am

Hello, everyone,
I meed a strange question, while i run CodeLite from root user, i can debug my program(such as breakpoint), but run Codelite from generic user, debug is not available. the error information are:
This GDB was configured as "i386-redhat-linux-gnu"...
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/libthread_db.so.1".
set unwindonsignal on
set width 0
set height 0
Continuing...
/dev/?: No such file or directory.
You can't do that without a process to debug.


My CodeLite is build from VNC source code using root user.
Any help is useful. Thanks.

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6110
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Can't debug

Post by eranif » Mon Apr 28, 2008 1:00 pm

Hi,

To help me track down this bug,

Go to: Settings -> Debugger Settings... -> Loaded Debuggers
and enable the 'Enable full debugger loading'

Try to debug again and paste here the log

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

cy007
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Can't debug

Post by cy007 » Tue Apr 29, 2008 5:34 am

eranif wrote:Hi,

To help me track down this bug,

Go to: Settings -> Debugger Settings... -> Loaded Debuggers
and enable the 'Enable full debugger loading'

Try to debug again and paste here the log

Eran
Thanks. The same result is occured.

cy007
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Can't debug

Post by cy007 » Tue Apr 29, 2008 6:03 am

whole log:
Debug session started successfully!
DEBUG>>~"GNU gdb Red Hat Linux (6.6-35.fc8rh)\n"
GNU gdb Red Hat Linux (6.6-35.fc8rh)
DEBUG>>~"Copyright (C) 2006 Free Software Foundation, Inc.\n"
Copyright (C) 2006 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
DEBUG>>~"GDB is free software, covered by the GNU General Public License, and you are\n"
GDB is free software, covered by the GNU General Public License, and you are
DEBUG>>~"welcome to change it and/or distribute copies of it under certain conditions.\n"
welcome to change it and/or distribute copies of it under certain conditions.
DEBUG>>~"Type \"show copying\" to see the conditions.\n"
Type "show copying" to see the conditions.
DEBUG>>~"There is absolutely no warranty for GDB. Type \"show warranty\" for details.\n"
There is absolutely no warranty for GDB. Type "show warranty" for details.
DEBUG>>~"This GDB was configured as \"i386-redhat-linux-gnu\"...\n"
This GDB was configured as "i386-redhat-linux-gnu"...
DEBUG>>~"Using host libthread_db library \"/lib/libthread_db.so.1\".\n"
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/libthread_db.so.1".
DEBUG>>(gdb)
DEBUG>>&"set unwindonsignal on\n"
set unwindonsignal on
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>(gdb)
DEBUG>>&"set breakpoint pending on\n"
set breakpoint pending on
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>(gdb)
DEBUG>>&"set width 0\n"
set width 0
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>(gdb)
DEBUG>>&"set height 0\n"
set height 0
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>(gdb)
DEBUG>>&"break /home/everchen/Projects/HelloWorld/hello.c:23\n"
break /home/everchen/Projects/HelloWorld/hello.c:23
DEBUG>>~"Breakpoint 1 at 0x80488b1: file hello.c, line 23.\n"
Breakpoint 1 at 0x80488b1: file hello.c, line 23.
DEBUG>>00000001^done
Successfully set breakpoint at: /home/everchen/Projects/HelloWorld/hello.c:23
DEBUG>>(gdb)
DEBUG>>00000002^done,bkpt={number="2",type="breakpoint",disp="keep",enabled="y",addr="0x080488b1",func="main",file="hello.c",fullname="/home/everchen/Projects/HelloWorld/hello.c",line="23",times="0"}
DEBUG>>(gdb)
DEBUG>>00000003^running
Continuing...
DEBUG>>(gdb)
DEBUG>>&"/dev/?: No such file or directory.\n"
/dev/?: No such file or directory.
DEBUG>>&"You can't do that without a process to debug.\n"
You can't do that without a process to debug.
DEBUG>>00000003^error,msg="You can't do that without a process to debug."
You can't do that without a process to debug.
DEBUG>>(gdb)

cy007
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Can't debug

Post by cy007 » Tue Apr 29, 2008 6:23 am

I found a strange problem aim at it.
I run CodeLite from console term, this debug is OK.
If run from QuickBar from GNOME, it is failed.

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6110
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Can't debug

Post by eranif » Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:26 am

cy007 wrote:I found a strange problem aim at it.
I run CodeLite from console term, this debug is OK.
If run from QuickBar from GNOME, it is failed
Then it must be something environmental. I am not familiar with QuickBar, maybe it fails to run ~/.bashrc?

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

Post Reply