no symbol for source files

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
vpindarico
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:28 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

no symbol for source files

Postby vpindarico » Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:41 pm

Hi,

Since a couple of days I am using codelite 2.9.0.4684 installed from source tarball on my ubuntu 8.04. I appreciate it very much!

I have some question, here is the first one:

I can view all the symbols of my project if I select "current project" from the dropdown menu in the Symbols tag of the Workspace view, but if I select "current file" instead, then symbols are available only for .hpp, not for .cpp files.

Any hint?

Thank you in advance.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5778
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: no symbol for source files

Postby eranif » Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:29 pm

1) (FYI) The symbols you are viewing are not generated from the CScope plugin, but rather from the SymbolView plugin
2) You should be able to view all symbols regardless of the file extension, assuming they meet the followings:
- The cpp file is part of your workspace
- Your workspace is retagged properly

Make sure that all the above is true, if you still can't see the symbols, try retagging your workspace from the *main* menu:
Workspace | Retag Workspace (full)


Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
vpindarico
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:28 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: no symbol for source files

Postby vpindarico » Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:09 am

Thank you for your incredibly prompt reply :o

All the .cpp files have been imported and they appear in the workspace tab together with the .hpp files. So I assume they are part of the workspace.

I tried mouse right/Retag Workspace, then Workspace/Retag Workspace (full), but nothing changed.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5778
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: no symbol for source files

Postby eranif » Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:07 am

Try to reproduce the problem using a minimal project, zip and attach it here (the entire workspace directory + all source files)

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
vpindarico
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:28 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: no symbol for source files

Postby vpindarico » Fri Jan 28, 2011 4:10 am

Here it is.

Thank you.

Daniele
vpindarico
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:28 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: no symbol for source files

Postby vpindarico » Fri Jan 28, 2011 4:15 am

Uhm, no... you have a limit of 256 kb and my tgz is 773

My code is a total of 980 bytes in 3 files + makefile, but the .tags file is 3,7 Mb before compression.

How is it possible?
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5778
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: no symbol for source files

Postby eranif » Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:42 am

vpindarico wrote:but the .tags file is 3,7 Mb before compression.

How is it possible?

Because the tags files also includes symbols from the system include files which you are including in your code (e.g. stdio.h, stdlib.h etc)

Just delete the '.tags' file and zip it

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
vpindarico
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:28 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: no symbol for source files

Postby vpindarico » Sat Jan 29, 2011 2:10 am

Done.

Daniele
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5778
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: no symbol for source files

Postby eranif » Sat Jan 29, 2011 11:34 am

Thanks for the sample workspace.
The bug is now fixed in trunk.

In short, it turns out that the SymbolView plugin assumed that ".h" is the only valid extension for header files...
I changed the code to use codelite's FileExtManager class which handles it better (in your example the header file was named 'Useless.hpp') and it is working as expected now.

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
vpindarico
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:28 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: no symbol for source files

Postby vpindarico » Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:38 pm

eranif wrote:Thanks for the sample workspace.
The bug is now fixed in trunk.

In short, it turns out that the SymbolView plugin assumed that ".h" is the only valid extension for header files...
I changed the code to use codelite's FileExtManager class which handles it better (in your example the header file was named 'Useless.hpp') and it is working as expected now.

Eran


Thank you, I will try the trunk in the next few days.

Is there a board where to post suggestions or requests?

Daniele

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests