Page 1 of 1
Adding LINT
Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:40 pm
by Joash29
Hi
I've been testing out a few IDEs lately and have settled on CodeLite..it has everything
..i just need to integrate LINT now..Has anybody done it before?
Re: Adding LINT
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:58 am
by eranif
Forgive my ignorance, but what does LINT does?
How do you invoke it?
If you could tell some details here, I will be able to help you out.
Eran
Re: Adding LINT
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:39 pm
by Joash29
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PC-Lint
PC Lint is commercial software that we use at work to check source code for discrepancies, basically a static code analyzer. Its been setup a long time ago and I've been through the manual but I cant make head or tail of it at the moment. Ive managed to setup the tool to lint a single file, but that means every function defined outside that c file throws an error. Is there an open source alternative?
Thanks for you time
Re: Adding LINT
Posted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:11 am
by eranif
You could try and run 'CppCheck'.
codelite has a plugin for it, and it should work out of the box.
Right click on your workspace / project and select -> 'CppCheck -> Run CppCheck'
This will perform a static code analyze of your workspace/project
Also, using the 'External Tools' plugin, you may consider the macros:
$(ProjectFiles) and $(ProjectFilesAbs) - the first one expands to a relative path and the later to absolute path
Those 2 macro will expand to a full space delimited list of the project files (the active project)
Eran
Re: Adding LINT
Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 4:17 pm
by Joash29
Thanks
..CppCheck is helpful..