Adding LINT

Post here any ideas/problems/suggestions you have regarding CodeLite's ExternalTools plugin
Joash29
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:28 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Adding LINT

Post by Joash29 »

Hi

I've been testing out a few IDEs lately and have settled on CodeLite..it has everything :) ..i just need to integrate LINT now..Has anybody done it before?
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Adding LINT

Post by eranif »

Forgive my ignorance, but what does LINT does?
How do you invoke it?

If you could tell some details here, I will be able to help you out.

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Joash29
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:28 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: Adding LINT

Post by Joash29 »

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PC-Lint
PC Lint is commercial software that we use at work to check source code for discrepancies, basically a static code analyzer. Its been setup a long time ago and I've been through the manual but I cant make head or tail of it at the moment. Ive managed to setup the tool to lint a single file, but that means every function defined outside that c file throws an error. Is there an open source alternative?

Thanks for you time
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6367
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Adding LINT

Post by eranif »

You could try and run 'CppCheck'.
codelite has a plugin for it, and it should work out of the box.

Right click on your workspace / project and select -> 'CppCheck -> Run CppCheck'

This will perform a static code analyze of your workspace/project

Also, using the 'External Tools' plugin, you may consider the macros:

$(ProjectFiles) and $(ProjectFilesAbs) - the first one expands to a relative path and the later to absolute path

Those 2 macro will expand to a full space delimited list of the project files (the active project)

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Joash29
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:28 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Re: Adding LINT

Post by Joash29 »

Thanks :D ..CppCheck is helpful..
Post Reply