Page 1 of 1

Extending build output links.

Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:23 am
by dsisco11
Not sure how else to title the thread :S

Iv'e come across a situation quite frequently in CL where the build output will give me something like this

Code: Select all

In file included from C:/CODE/Diet3D/INCLUDES/GUI/CStyleProperties.cpp:2:0:
C:/CODE/Diet3D/INCLUDES/GUI/CStyleProperties.h: In member function 'void CStylePropertys::print(std::string, std::string)':
C:/CODE/Diet3D/INCLUDES/GUI/CStyleProperties.h:23:14: error: 'std::string cssPropertyValue::repr' is protected
std::string repr;
^
Here's the problem.
I can't click on the 2nd line to go to the function it is talking about.
Yet, that's the only place I actually need to go, because that's the function which is accessing a variable it shouldn't(accidentally so, because I had changed the repr variable to be protected).

Is there a technical reason for this or is it just something that wasn't considered?
Can we get this fixed?

Re: Extending build output links.

Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 11:10 pm
by Jarod42
You may add/change regular expression if you want (in Build settings... your compiler -> patterns).

I think that the "goto click" is only possible when line/column is provided.

Re: Extending build output links.

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 1:36 am
by eranif
Jarod42 wrote:I think that the "goto click" is only possible when line/column is provided
A regex that contains the file name only will also work, but without the line number its not worth much...

Eran

Re: Extending build output links.

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:25 am
by dsisco11
well wouldn't it be possible to check for edge cases like this where a file path is provided but no line/column numbers and instead a function is given. And make it so it will just take you to the function in that file when clicked? I mean in this case it's telling me that the function is accessing a private member and that's fine, I know how to fix that. But I'ts a bit irksome to have to go open the file myself and scroll down to the function definition or w/e. It would just be easier to be able to double click the line and be taken to it.

Re: Extending build output links.

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:33 am
by eranif
Its not as easy as described. but my plate is pretty full atm, so I don't see this implemented in the near future.
You can always try and have a look at the sources and contribute a patch to fix this ;)

Eran