Hi,
FYI: I have started migrating codelite's build from the custom 'configure' script, to use the more standard tool - cmake
The migration will be completed in the coming days (you can already build codelite + all its plugins using cmake + install it)
I will update this topic once the migration is completed.
There is still work to be done under Mac and probably few fixes under Linux.
This migration only affects Linux / OSX builds *not* Windows
Eran
codelite is moving to CMAKE
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
codelite is moving to CMAKE
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:25 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Location: Germany → NRW
- Contact:
Re: codelite is moving to CMAKE
Hello,
since is this is still a pinned topic but not updated in a long time I’d like to ask what’s the status of this?
rgds, Kira Backes
since is this is still a pinned topic but not updated in a long time I’d like to ask what’s the status of this?
rgds, Kira Backes
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: codelite is moving to CMAKE
codelite is now using CMake for its build under Linux and OSX
Under Windows - you need codelite to build codelite (CMake does _not_ work well with wxWidgets built with MinGW)
From our wiki:
Building codelite under Windows
Building codelite under Linux
Mac OSX
Eran
Under Windows - you need codelite to build codelite (CMake does _not_ work well with wxWidgets built with MinGW)
From our wiki:
Building codelite under Windows
Building codelite under Linux
Mac OSX
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 38
- Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:19 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: codelite is moving to CMAKE
How do you mean your statement Eran?
don't u recommend use cmake on windows at all or just to compile Codelite or for the wx library.
I also want to point out that Cmake 3 is on the way (rc3 right now).
Another question is how to use Cmake with Codelite and how it integrates with codelit. Is there a little documentation on this here somewhere . Can someone create a small helloWord example project and post it on wiki.
I never used Cmake or any other cousins of it and I don't even know how to start using it.
Im also looking forward for the new CodeLite 6 release (Can you tell something about the release date )
Im really happy with your work btw. and I go completely without VS since half a Year or so. Im not a pro indeed but anyway.
Thanks
(I think you wanted to say "doesn't")(CMake does work well with wxWidgets built with MinGW)
don't u recommend use cmake on windows at all or just to compile Codelite or for the wx library.
I also want to point out that Cmake 3 is on the way (rc3 right now).
Another question is how to use Cmake with Codelite and how it integrates with codelit. Is there a little documentation on this here somewhere . Can someone create a small helloWord example project and post it on wiki.
I never used Cmake or any other cousins of it and I don't even know how to start using it.
Im also looking forward for the new CodeLite 6 release (Can you tell something about the release date )
Im really happy with your work btw. and I go completely without VS since half a Year or so. Im not a pro indeed but anyway.
Thanks
I want to believe.
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: codelite is moving to CMAKE
Yes, I fixed my original postFox Mulder wrote:(I think you wanted to say "doesn't")
No, only for wxWidgets based applications that uses MinGWFox Mulder wrote:don't u recommend use cmake on windows at all or just to compile Codelite or for the wx library.
I know, if you look closely on the contributors for CMake 3 - you will find my name there - added support for codeliteFox Mulder wrote:I also want to point out that Cmake 3 is on the way (rc3 right now).
Another question is how to use Cmake with Codelite and how it integrates with codelit.
i.e. in cmake 3.0 you will be able to use codelite as generator in cmake
The only thing that holds me from progressing codelite 6.0 release is the support for LLDB debugger (which took longer than I expected)Fox Mulder wrote:Im also looking forward for the new CodeLite 6 release (Can you tell something about the release date )
However, hopefully, I will complete my lldb debugger support this week so I can speedup things for codelite 6.0
Note that LLDB debugger will be supported for Linux (Ubuntu 13.10/14.04/Debian Wheezy and OSX)
For WIndows, LLDB has no support for native debugging... however, it could still be used for remote debugging
So, I believe it will be during April, but I don't have a fixed date - we are still waiting for 14.04 (ubuntu) release
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Expert
- Posts: 231
- Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:04 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: c++
- Location: Los Angeles
- Contact:
Re: codelite is moving to CMAKE
awesome, looking forward to it!
-- p
-- p
main: Debian Jessie x64 + custom wxTrunk
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 38
- Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:19 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: codelite is moving to CMAKE
Thanks for reply.
Btw. If you release it this month you don't break your tradition - since you mostly never needed more than 3 month for a revolution.
For the LLDB debugger- if you read this http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n ... px=MTQwNzk it makes everything relative again.(article is 1 year old though).
I actually noticed it but don't remember how old this contribution was - anyway Im very happy with that - now I will be able to generate the OpenCV lib for Codelite directly.I know, if you look closely on the contributors for CMake 3 - you will find my name there
Btw. If you release it this month you don't break your tradition - since you mostly never needed more than 3 month for a revolution.
For the LLDB debugger- if you read this http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n ... px=MTQwNzk it makes everything relative again.(article is 1 year old though).
I want to believe.
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: codelite is moving to CMAKE
Remote debugging will be enabled by codelite+lldb since I actually wrote my codelite-lldb server which does not need any GUI to and it can accept connections either over TCP or Unix Domain socketsFox Mulder wrote:For the LLDB debugger- if you read this http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n ... px=MTQwNzk it makes everything relative again.(article is 1 year old though).
So remote debugging _is_ part of what I will offer with codelite.
I have been debugging with it for couple of weeks now, and it works excellent (in some cases, its even better than gdb...)
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread