codelite is moving to CMAKE

Discussion about CodeLite development process and patches
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5849
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

codelite is moving to CMAKE

Post by eranif » Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:48 am

Hi,
FYI: I have started migrating codelite's build from the custom 'configure' script, to use the more standard tool - cmake
The migration will be completed in the coming days (you can already build codelite + all its plugins using cmake + install it)

I will update this topic once the migration is completed.
There is still work to be done under Mac and probably few fixes under Linux.

This migration only affects Linux / OSX builds *not* Windows

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

kira.backes
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:25 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Location: Germany → NRW
Contact:

Re: codelite is moving to CMAKE

Post by kira.backes » Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:26 pm

Hello,


since is this is still a pinned topic but not updated in a long time I’d like to ask what’s the status of this?


rgds, Kira Backes

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5849
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: codelite is moving to CMAKE

Post by eranif » Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:36 pm

codelite is now using CMake for its build under Linux and OSX
Under Windows - you need codelite to build codelite (CMake does _not_ work well with wxWidgets built with MinGW)

From our wiki:

Building codelite under Windows
Building codelite under Linux
Mac OSX

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

Fox Mulder
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:19 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: codelite is moving to CMAKE

Post by Fox Mulder » Tue Apr 15, 2014 11:36 pm

How do you mean your statement Eran?
(CMake does work well with wxWidgets built with MinGW)
(I think you wanted to say "doesn't")
don't u recommend use cmake on windows at all or just to compile Codelite or for the wx library.
I also want to point out that Cmake 3 is on the way (rc3 right now).
Another question is how to use Cmake with Codelite and how it integrates with codelit. Is there a little documentation on this here somewhere . Can someone create a small helloWord example project and post it on wiki.
I never used Cmake or any other cousins of it and I don't even know how to start using it.
Im also looking forward for the new CodeLite 6 release :ugeek: (Can you tell something about the release date :roll: :oops: :lol: )
Im really happy with your work btw. and I go completely without VS since half a Year or so. Im not a pro indeed but anyway.
Thanks
I want to believe.

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5849
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: codelite is moving to CMAKE

Post by eranif » Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:26 am

Fox Mulder wrote:(I think you wanted to say "doesn't")
Yes, I fixed my original post
Fox Mulder wrote:don't u recommend use cmake on windows at all or just to compile Codelite or for the wx library.
No, only for wxWidgets based applications that uses MinGW
Fox Mulder wrote:I also want to point out that Cmake 3 is on the way (rc3 right now).
Another question is how to use Cmake with Codelite and how it integrates with codelit.
I know, if you look closely on the contributors for CMake 3 - you will find my name there - added support for codelite ;)
i.e. in cmake 3.0 you will be able to use codelite as generator in cmake
Fox Mulder wrote:Im also looking forward for the new CodeLite 6 release (Can you tell something about the release date )
The only thing that holds me from progressing codelite 6.0 release is the support for LLDB debugger (which took longer than I expected)
However, hopefully, I will complete my lldb debugger support this week so I can speedup things for codelite 6.0

Note that LLDB debugger will be supported for Linux (Ubuntu 13.10/14.04/Debian Wheezy and OSX)
For WIndows, LLDB has no support for native debugging... however, it could still be used for remote debugging

So, I believe it will be during April, but I don't have a fixed date - we are still waiting for 14.04 (ubuntu) release

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

petah
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:04 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: codelite is moving to CMAKE

Post by petah » Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:24 am

awesome, looking forward to it! :D

-- p
main: Debian Jessie x64 + custom wxTrunk

Fox Mulder
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:19 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: codelite is moving to CMAKE

Post by Fox Mulder » Wed Apr 16, 2014 1:11 pm

Thanks for reply.
I know, if you look closely on the contributors for CMake 3 - you will find my name there
I actually noticed it but don't remember how old this contribution was - anyway Im very happy with that - now I will be able to generate the OpenCV lib for Codelite directly.
Btw. If you release it this month you don't break your tradition - since you mostly never needed more than 3 month for a revolution. :mrgreen:

For the LLDB debugger- if you read this http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n ... px=MTQwNzk it makes everything relative again.(article is 1 year old though).
I want to believe.

User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 5849
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: codelite is moving to CMAKE

Post by eranif » Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:50 pm

Fox Mulder wrote:For the LLDB debugger- if you read this http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n ... px=MTQwNzk it makes everything relative again.(article is 1 year old though).
Remote debugging will be enabled by codelite+lldb since I actually wrote my codelite-lldb server which does not need any GUI to and it can accept connections either over TCP or Unix Domain sockets

So remote debugging _is_ part of what I will offer with codelite.
I have been debugging with it for couple of weeks now, and it works excellent (in some cases, its even better than gdb...)


Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread

Post Reply