Page 2 of 2

Re: Use an environment variable for Codelite development paths

Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 7:34 am
by sdolim
coder99 wrote:

Code: Select all

----------Building project:[ clTest - Debug ]----------
g++ -c  "C:/Program Files/CodeLite-n/clTest/cltest_app.cpp" -g -mthreads -DHAVE_W32API_H -D__WXMSW__ -D__WXDEBUG__ -D_UNICODE -IC:\wxWidgets-2.8.9-n\lib\gcc_dll\mswud -IC:\wxWidgets-2.8.9-n\include -DWXUSINGDLL -Wno-ctor-dtor-privacy -pipe -fmessage-length=0    -D__WX__  -o ./Debug/cltest_app.o
In file included from C:/Program Files/CodeLite-n/clTest/cltest_app.cpp:1:
C:/Program Files/CodeLite-n/clTest/cltest_app.h:4:20: wx/app.h: No such file or directory 
Do you have msys installed? If so, this might help:

I had trouble with the -IC:\wxWidgets... flag until I added SHELL=cmd to my environment variables. It seems that "make" will try to use "sh" to execute commands unless you override it by setting SHELL. And sh doesn't like backslashes as path separators. That's why g++ can't find the header files.

Re: Use an environment variable for Codelite development paths

Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 11:17 pm
by coder99
Thank you for the comment; it might be applicable in my case.

Is that SHELL= the WinXP cmd.exe??
---- edit --

defining
SHELL=cmd.exe
resolved this problem for me..

I will make it a part of my defaults.

Re: Use an environment variable for Codelite development paths

Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 11:36 pm
by coder99
I have now re-installed CL, repeated the creation of the wxWidget GUI test app and I get the same error; but when I define SHELL=cmd.exeit all works as advertised :-)

Re: Use an environment variable for Codelite development paths

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:59 am
by eranif
coder99 wrote:I have now re-installed CL, repeated the creation of the wxWidget GUI test app and I get the same error; but when I define SHELL=cmd.exeit all works as advertised :-)
You should really mention that you are using MSYS next time...

Eran

Re: Use an environment variable for Codelite development paths

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 3:38 am
by sdolim
coder99 wrote:Is that SHELL= the WinXP cmd.exe??
Yes. I just set SHELL to "cmd" (no .exe needed) in CL's Environment Variables.

Re: Use an environment variable for Codelite development paths

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 4:00 am
by eranif
sdolim wrote:Yes. I just set SHELL to "cmd" (no .exe needed) in CL's Environment Variables.
He already fixed his problem :D
Eran

Re: Use an environment variable for Codelite development paths

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 10:04 am
by coder99
I was unaware that I was using MSYS;
it has been installed some time ago for use with Eclipse IIRC, but I certainly did not use it intentionally.

Re: Use an environment variable for Codelite development paths

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:08 am
by eranif
coder99 wrote:but I certainly did not use it intentionally
I know, thats the problem when using eclipse :D
Eran

Re: Use an environment variable for Codelite development paths

Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 1:54 am
by coder99
FWIW, the reason I went looking for alternatives was Eclipse ;-)

and found Codelite :-)

But seriously, if this is a problem, is there a way to check for it at installation time or perhaps simply set the SHELL environment variable by default?

Re: Use an environment variable for Codelite development paths

Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 2:02 am
by eranif
To tell you the truth, I wasnt even aware of this environment variable until Scott point it out... so this one is new for me like for you

Eran