General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
amma
CodeLite Curious
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++

Quick question about library linking

Post by amma »

Hi,

I've never used an IDE before for C++. I'm relearning C++ and discovered the CodeLite IDE.
I've been quite content so far with the general feel and usage of the tool, but i have managed to somehow get stuck due to the following problem

assume i would build a file using the command (in console)

Code: Select all

g++ -o xxx -I/usr/include/t1 -I/usr/local/include/t2/  main.cpp
How can I get Codelite find and build the libraries i need.
I have tried adding the directories in the parser include files tab in the workspace settings but to no avail.

Any help is welcome

Using g++ on fedora 12 (64 bit) and using latest codelite build.
eranif
CodeLite Plugin

Re: Quick question about library linking

Post by eranif »

Right click on the project and select 'settings', select the 'linker' tab.

To add libraries, add them as semi-colon linst of the library names only in the 'Libraries' field

To add search path for libraries, add them as semi-colon separated list in the 'Library Path' field.

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
amma
CodeLite Curious

Same and new problem

Post by amma »

Hello again,

Thanks for the quick reply.
After spending sometime trying some possible combinations I'm still stuck trying to figure out the configuration.
To build I use this exact command which works:

g++ -o x main.cpp -L/usr/lib64/mysql -lmysqlclient -I/usr/include/mysql
I believe this is what i have, which is obviously incorrect, the question remains how?
Options remains blank
Library path: /usr/include/mysql; /usr/lib64/mysql
Library:lmysqlclient

Also