Building a CodeLite workspace without CodeLite (makedir)

General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
jdl
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:30 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Building a CodeLite workspace without CodeLite (makedir)

Post by jdl »

Hi,

Problem:
I'd like to hand over my completed CodeLite workspace based tool app (compiled with mingw) to another developer. Problem is you need CodeLite to build the workspace because the makefile depends on the "makedir" executable distributed with CodeLite. Is there a way to do this currently? Should I make a feature request for this (something like "CodeLite independent makefile"). Is this even a feasible request or are there other dependencies I don't know about?

Thanks.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6375
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Building a CodeLite workspace without CodeLite (makedir)

Post by eranif »

jdl wrote:Should I make a feature request for this (something like "CodeLite independent makefile")
Yes
jdl wrote:Is this even a feasible request or are there other dependencies I don't know about?
Very much feasible.



Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6375
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Building a CodeLite workspace without CodeLite (makedir)

Post by eranif »

Here is the solution I implemented in trunk:
- All references to 'makedir' are now by using the variable $(MakeDirCommand)
- The environment variables section was moved to be generated *after* the default makefile variables section.

With these 2 fixes, you can now:
- Define your own environment variable (from *whithin* codelite) named MakeDirCommand and set it to whatever you want
- Export the makefile (right click on the project and select 'Export')

When setting an environment variable of your own the makefile will use the environment variable rather than the default one
BTW: this is now true for the entire 'hard-wired' variables

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Post Reply