Newbie needs help: GCC, G++ and VC++

General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
extreme001
CodeLite Curious

Newbie needs help: GCC, G++ and VC++

Post by extreme001 »

Hi!

I'm very new to gcc, g++ and CodeLite and have some questions about configuring VC++ with CodeLite and gcc, g++ in general.

1. I compiled wxWidgets with GCC and created a small sample with the CodeLite-Projectwizard.
The build config is g++, i compiled it and after that my Debug and Release exe was very big (Debug: 43 MB, Release: 5,16 MB ). I think that's to much for a simple console-App. (see bottom)

2. I have no idea how to configure CodeLite to use the MSVS 9-Compilers (i always used Visual Studio (VC) for coding).

Does someone have a tutorial for that? I want to use the CodeLite-IDE with VC++ from visual Studio 2009 to compile.

Thank you!!

Here's my sample code i used:

Code: Select all

// main wxWidgets header file
#include <wx/wx.h>

int main( int argc, char** argv )
{
	// initialize wxWidgets
	wxInitializer init;

wxPrintf( wxT("Hello in wxWidgets World!\n\n") );

// print some system info...
	wxPuts(wxGetHomeDir());
	wxPuts(wxGetOsDescription());
	wxPuts(wxGetUserName());
	wxPuts(wxGetFullHostName());

long mem = wxGetFreeMemory().ToLong();
	wxPrintf(wxT("Memory: %ld\n"), mem);

return 0;
}
marfi
CodeLite Expert

Re: Newbie needs help: GCC, G++ and VC++

Post by marfi »

The build config is g++, i compiled it and after that my Debug and Release exe was very big (Debug: 43 MB, Release: 5,16 MB ). I think that's to much for a simple console-App.
Did you try to set -s flag for linker in Release mode?