Page 1 of 1

Direct Debuging app in OSX

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 1:22 pm
by evstevemd
I have been using CL for development in Windows/Linux and Mac and it works well (I have never missed XCode ;))
There is however this nagging problem for me that I have lived with for years.
In Windows/Linux I will just set breakpoints and hit debug icon. However in Mac I have first to compile, then run my own script to make an app bundle and then run manually via debug executable/process dialog.

Is that the only way? It is very inconvenient and time consuming process, and would like to avoid now if possible.

TIA

Re: Direct Debuging app in OSX

Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 4:32 am
by eranif
Hi,
You can debug directly without the need of your script.
In the project settings, you can configure the 'Output File' field to:

Code: Select all

$(ProjectName).app/Contents/MacOS/$(ProjectName)
Next, update the fields:
Executable to Run/Debug to:

Code: Select all

./$(ProjectName)
And the field: 'Working directory' to:

Code: Select all

$(ProjectName).app/Contents/MacOS
This should do the trick for you.

Re: Direct Debuging app in OSX

Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 1:28 pm
by evstevemd
Thanks Eran.
$(ProjectName).app/Contents/MacOS/$(ProjectName)
This one implies I have a Package in Project Name. Does CodeLite do that automagically? Currently I use my own script to Package app into a remote directory (that involves convoluted processes involving install_name_tool due to dependency libraries not being found). I would love If I can configure CL to do that for me just as I can do with Windows.

Re: Direct Debuging app in OSX

Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 6:27 pm
by eranif
CodeLIte will create the path to the executable if it is not existed.
However, it will not run install_name_tool for you, you will still need to use your script for this.

For debugging, you don't need to run it, it will load without it

Re: Direct Debuging app in OSX

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 3:48 pm
by evstevemd
eranif wrote:CodeLIte will create the path to the executable if it is not existed.
However, it will not run install_name_tool for you, you will still need to use your script for this.

For debugging, you don't need to run it, it will load without it
Thank you.
I will adjust the project settings accordingly

I saw Mac Bundler Plugin in the CL. Is there any documentation of what it does and what is missing in packaging?

Re: Direct Debuging app in OSX

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:09 pm
by eranif
It just creates the folder structure + added Info.plist IIRC.
This plugin was contributed so I don't have all the specifics