Issue with running wx Application on a MAC
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 1:32 am
- Contact:
Issue with running wx Application on a MAC
Hi,
I've managed to build a wx application on a mac, but when I run it, I get the main window but with no option to move it, or a corresponding app menu.
This is what I did:
Built the wx library in debug mode.
Created a new workspace in codelite (this was the first time I've launched codelite - I didn't configure anything).
Plugins > Gizmos > New wxWidgets Project Wizard > GUI Application with Main Frame
Build
Run
Am I missing something? I didn't configure any wx directory environment or such (I guess wx-config is responsible for that).
Thanks,
Roey
I've managed to build a wx application on a mac, but when I run it, I get the main window but with no option to move it, or a corresponding app menu.
This is what I did:
Built the wx library in debug mode.
Created a new workspace in codelite (this was the first time I've launched codelite - I didn't configure anything).
Plugins > Gizmos > New wxWidgets Project Wizard > GUI Application with Main Frame
Build
Run
Am I missing something? I didn't configure any wx directory environment or such (I guess wx-config is responsible for that).
Thanks,
Roey
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Issue with running wx Application on a MAC
This is a known wxWidgets & Mac issue.
Read this:
http://codelite.org/forum/viewtopic.php ... undle#p880
Eran
Read this:
http://codelite.org/forum/viewtopic.php ... undle#p880
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 1:32 am
- Contact:
Re: Issue with running wx Application on a MAC
Thanks,
Based on the other post, this is what I did:
Project Settings > General:
Output File: ./Test02App02.app/Contents/MacOS/Test02App02
Command: open Test02App02.app
Working Directory: /Development/CodeliteProj/Test02
(Note, by the way, there could be some bug with Working Directory; if you leave it blank, you get this on terminal: cd /Development/CodeliteProj/Test02 && cd && open Test02App02.app where the middle cd goes to the wrong folder, so the executable cannot be found. Shouldn't the middle cd be omitted if the working directory is blank?)
Anyway, are there any issues with this approach? If not, shouldn't the wizard do this by default?
Thanks,
roey
Based on the other post, this is what I did:
Project Settings > General:
Output File: ./Test02App02.app/Contents/MacOS/Test02App02
Command: open Test02App02.app
Working Directory: /Development/CodeliteProj/Test02
(Note, by the way, there could be some bug with Working Directory; if you leave it blank, you get this on terminal: cd /Development/CodeliteProj/Test02 && cd && open Test02App02.app where the middle cd goes to the wrong folder, so the executable cannot be found. Shouldn't the middle cd be omitted if the working directory is blank?)
Anyway, are there any issues with this approach? If not, shouldn't the wizard do this by default?
Thanks,
roey
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 1:32 am
- Contact:
Re: Issue with running wx Application on a MAC
By the way, if anyone wishes to automatically close the terminal window that opens every time you hit Run:
Instead of:
Command: open Test02App02.app
Use:
Command: open Test02App02.app && exit
Then in Leopard:
Terminal > Preferences... > Settings > Shell > When the shell exits: > Close the window
Instead of:
Command: open Test02App02.app
Use:
Command: open Test02App02.app && exit
Then in Leopard:
Terminal > Preferences... > Settings > Shell > When the shell exits: > Close the window
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Issue with running wx Application on a MAC
Thanks for the tip, when I tried '&& exit' it only changed the prompt to '>' and thats itRoey wrote:Then in Leopard:
Terminal > Preferences... > Settings > Shell > When the shell exits: > Close the window
(I am no Mac expert...)
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 1:32 am
- Contact:
Re: Issue with running wx Application on a MAC
Should I create a WIKI entry for this?
(By the way, where did the wiki developer link go? I could only find the SVN details via search).
(By the way, where did the wiki developer link go? I could only find the SVN details via search).
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Issue with running wx Application on a MAC
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 1:32 am
- Contact:
Re: Issue with running wx Application on a MAC
And unless I'm missing something, the developer pages are not referenced from that page.eranif wrote:All wiki pages are gathered here:
http://codelite.org/LiteEditor/Documentation
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Issue with running wx Application on a MAC
Ok, please explain to me what are the "developer pages"
Eran
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 1:32 am
- Contact: