Page 1 of 1

A few strange things with Codelite on OS X

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 12:02 pm
by CLUser
- Not MAC OS X behaviour: when I point my cursor at the end of the line I press: cmd + shift + LEFT_ARROW and I expect to be selected the whole line from end to start but it selects only one word. Can I change it to default os x behaviour? It need to jump over the whole line and select the whole line. It jumps over the entire line already but it select only one word.

- Workspace: right click on "MyProject" folder -> Open Shell -> opens Shell at the back of the Codelite. Is it possible to open on top of all windows?

- For example we have a code:

Code: Select all

	#include <stdio.h>
right click on "stdio" part -> choose: Open Include File "stdio.h" -> does nothing...

- If we have a code:

Code: Select all

	std::cout << "adsf";

right click on "cout" part -> Add Include File For "cout" -> does nothing...

It's my second try to work with Codelight after years of using Xcode - I really hate it. I like Codelite, I wish Codelite be more comfortable than Xcode because Xcode is a trash for c++.

Anyway, seems like Codelite still the best IDE for C++ nowdays because the last version of Code::Blocks were released on dec 2013 for OS X. Xcode works very bad with C++ so I think Codelite the best IDE for C++.

Re: A few strange things with Codelite on OS X

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:16 pm
by eranif
CLUser wrote:Not MAC OS X behaviour: when I point my cursor at the end of the line I press: cmd + shift + LEFT_ARROW and I expect to be selected the whole line from end to start but it selects only one word. Can I change it to default os x behaviour? It need to jump over the whole line and select the whole line. It jumps over the entire line already but it select only one word.
This is by design... I did made most of the OSX parts to work as the native behavior, expect for this - I would really hate to change this
right click on "stdio" part -> choose: Open Include File "stdio.h" -> does nothing...
This works here. My guess: your global include paths are empty
What do you have under:
settings->code completions->ctags->search paths?

I am using CodeLite on OSX myself and everything that works on Windows/Linux works for OSX as well

Eran

Re: A few strange things with Codelite on OS X

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:42 pm
by CLUser
eranif wrote:
CLUser wrote:Not MAC OS X behaviour: when I point my cursor at the end of the line I press: cmd + shift + LEFT_ARROW and I expect to be selected the whole line from end to start but it selects only one word. Can I change it to default os x behaviour? It need to jump over the whole line and select the whole line. It jumps over the entire line already but it select only one word.
This is by design... I did made most of the OSX parts to work as the native behavior, expect for this - I would really hate to change this
But it's impossible to work with Codelite on macbooks and macbook pro because they don't have Home button to jump the cursor to the start of the line.
eranif wrote:
right click on "stdio" part -> choose: Open Include File "stdio.h" -> does nothing...
This works here. My guess: your global include paths are empty
What do you have under:
settings->code completions->ctags->search paths?

I am using CodeLite on OSX myself and everything that works on Windows/Linux works for OSX as well

Eran
Well I have an empty both two fields you're right. But my program works well:

Code: Select all

#include <iostream>
int main() {
	std::cout << "adfasdf\n";
}
And I think it should know that std::cout comes from iostream, isn't it?

Now I see the next bug: when I try to run my app I get a message that codelite-terminal has just crashed. And it doesn't start.

Re: A few strange things with Codelite on OS X

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:52 pm
by eranif
CLUser wrote:Well I have an empty both two fields you're right. But my program works well:
The two are not related.
CodeLite has no way of telling where to search for the default headers (stdio.h etc)
Its part of the compiler and it is not "exposed" even when compiling.

This is where the "search paths" comes in - you need to tell CodeLite which compiler you use and click on the big button that says: "Suggest"

Eran

Re: A few strange things with Codelite on OS X

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:06 pm
by CLUser
eranif wrote:
CLUser wrote:Well I have an empty both two fields you're right. But my program works well:
The two are not related.
CodeLite has no way of telling where to search for the default headers (stdio.h etc)
Its part of the compiler and it is not "exposed" even when compiling.

This is where the "search paths" comes in - you need to tell CodeLite which compiler you use and click on the big button that says: "Suggest"

Eran
Ok I see. I've choosen the compiler - and now it works as expected! Thanks.

Why does it crash when I try to start my app? (Build -> Run). Codelite-terminal crashes, not my application :)

Re: A few strange things with Codelite on OS X

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:40 am
by CLUser
This is by design... I did made most of the OSX parts to work as the native behavior, expect for this - I would really hate to change this
By the way - there's alt+arrow (left or right) shortcut to jump over the word. For what we need two combination of keys which do the same? :)

Re: A few strange things with Codelite on OS X

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 3:30 pm
by eranif
alt+arrow
Is used to fold / unfold current block in CodeLite
Workspace: right click on "MyProject" folder -> Open Shell -> opens Shell at the back of the Codelite. Is it possible to open on top of all windows?
This is how OSX works... I am not sure if this is fixable..

Also, which version of CodeLite are you using?

Eran

Re: A few strange things with Codelite on OS X

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 3:50 pm
by CLUser
eranif wrote:
alt+arrow
Is used to fold / unfold current block in CodeLite
Oops. Tried to press that shortcuts - you're right. alt+right_arrow - fold/unfold current block and alt+left_arrow - jumps over the word :)
eranif wrote: Also, which version of CodeLite are you using?
9.1.5

Anyway we can't work with Codelite on Mac notebooks because we don't have Home and End buttons on keyboard. Unfortunately, there're only cmd+left and cmd+right shortcuts for moving to the end of the string and to the start of it.

Re: A few strange things with Codelite on OS X

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 9:01 pm
by eranif
please open a bug at github
Eran