Page 1 of 1

Using Git Plugin Question

Posted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:59 pm
by Akronym
I want to create a complete new workspace with one project and git support.

I created the workspace, then the project, then clicked on "Set repository path" ... nothing.
How do I get CodeLite to make this a local git repository, that I can later push to GitHub?!

Do I have to run "git init" in the Workspace folder and add the files manually, commit and push to github first?!
If so, which CodeLite files can be ignored?!

P.S. Using V 9.1.1 on Windows 10. Since Version 9.1.1 I get the following warning when I create a new Workspace/Project (see attachment) => Building creates the missing compilation.db ... can I safely ignore this warning?

Re: Using Git Plugin Question

Posted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 12:06 am
by eranif
The git plugins basically uses an existing repo..
The normal flow is:

- Clone an existing repo
- Set the repo path in CodeLite

You can ignore this message

Eran

Re: Using Git Plugin Question

Posted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 12:25 am
by Akronym
Thanks for the quick answer. Did it this way and it seems to work.
I guess I have to commit all the files inside the .codelite folder, correct? Or can it be ignored? (I am thinking about working in a team)

Edit: What is the best way to maintain dependencies like dynamic libraries that need to be copied to the debug folder to execute the program?
I though about creating a folder outside of codelite "packages" and add a Post-build event to the project that relies on this folder. Of course add this folder to GIT.

Re: Using Git Plugin Question

Posted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 12:47 am
by eranif
Akronym wrote:I guess I have to commit all the files inside the .codelite folder, correct? Or can it be ignored?
all the files inside the .codelite folder can be ignored - the files inside this folder contains data relevant to your environment only

In addition, don't commit any generated makefiles produced by CodeLite (assuming that you are using CodeLite for C++)

In general, a folder with a dot prefix, can be ignored

Eran

Re: Using Git Plugin Question

Posted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 1:22 pm
by Akronym
Okay thanks. I tried deleting .codelite files and makefiles and saw, that it does not really matter if they got deleted.
But I recognized that I have to change all the paths to relative paths if I want to work in a team (Linker Libs etc.)

Thank you very much!