CodeLite: Keyboard Input doesn´t work in the "Output View"

General questions regarding the usage of CodeLite
hemmerling
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 3:20 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

CodeLite: Keyboard Input doesn´t work in the "Output View"

Post by hemmerling »

Hello,

**** Bug report:
Keyboard Input doesn´t work in the "Output View"
with this application:
https://github.com/felixge/node-ar-drone

1.Your codelite version = 8.20
2. Is it a self compiled version of codelite = No
3. Your OS = Win 8.1, 32-bit
4. Compiler version = Node.js v0.12.7

**** Prerequisite:
1.I installed the ar-drone module in the working directory, by which the module is copied in the "node_module" subdirectory.
2. Now I executed the demo code example from the website ( https://github.com/felixge/node-ar-drone ), by "node repls.js"

var arDrone = require('ar-drone');
var client = arDrone.createClient();
client.createRepl();

**** Expected behaviour, with COMMAND.COM console and with NodeEclipse ( http://www.nodeclipse.org/ ):

The output shows
"drone>"
and I can enter interactive commands, according to the tutorial , e.g. "takeoff()"

**** Experienced behaviour with CodeLite, after "Build / Run":
The output shows
"drone>"

but I can´t enter any commands.

If you know how to configure CodeLite, do enable interactive applications with Node.js, then please tell me.
Else consider it as a bug, which other iDEs master, and Dear developers, please fix it.

Sincerely
Rolf
Last edited by hemmerling on Fri Aug 14, 2015 8:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: CodeLite: Keyboard Input doesn´t work in the "Output Vie

Post by eranif »

Hi Rolf!

Thanks for reporting this, however this was already fixed https://github.com/eranif/codelite/comm ... 71cc0c3fc4 ;)
I see that you are using Node.js which was introduced in this version (8.1)

If you are using Windows, I plan on uploading new build for Windows in the coming minutes ;) and I will update this thread

Otherwise, any Node.js feedback is very much welcomed

Thanks
Eran

PS:
Please read the "how to post" in my signature
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: CodeLite: Keyboard Input doesn´t work in the "Output Vie

Post by eranif »

FYI:
CodeLite 8.2.1 for Windows can be downloaded from our download page

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
hemmerling
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 3:20 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Re: CodeLite: Keyboard Input doesn´t work in the "Output Vie

Post by hemmerling »

ups sorry... I need the Win 32-bit edition still :-(, as not all my computers are 64-bit, the little notebook I need for the workshop tomorrow is 32-bit.
So I sit an wait, faithfully.

Sincerely
Rolf
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: CodeLite: Keyboard Input doesn´t work in the "Output Vie

Post by eranif »

Sure, I can upload a 32 bit as well
Next time, remember to mention your OS, CodeLite version etc, it would have save us iterations

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
hemmerling
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 3:20 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Re: CodeLite: Keyboard Input doesn´t work in the "Output Vie

Post by hemmerling »

Hello Eran,
I meontioned the required infos, by editing my starting message in this thread,
directly after your answer when I discovered your message footer :-)

"Make sure you have read the
HOW TO POST
http://forums.codelite.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=804
thread"

Thanks for uploading, in advance.
Sincerely
Rolf
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: CodeLite: Keyboard Input doesn´t work in the "Output Vie

Post by eranif »

Np. A 32 bit build is in progress, I will update this thread and the "Weekly Build" section once its done

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: CodeLite: Keyboard Input doesn´t work in the "Output Vie

Post by eranif »

Done. I have uploaded a 32 bit weekly build, please give it a try

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
hemmerling
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 3:20 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Re: CodeLite: Keyboard Input doesn´t work in the "Output Vie

Post by hemmerling »

Hello,
if with the mentioned demo code,

if I do "Build / Run", the output
"drone>"
is displayed in the "Output view", tab "Output".
As mentioned, with Codelite 8.20 I can´t do standard input by keyboard

If I do "Debugger / Start/continue-Debugger", the the output
"drone>"
is displayed in the "Console" tab of the Node.js debugger.

If I don´t set any breakpoints, and run the debugger

**Expected behaviour:
I expect that the debugger runs almost as if by the "Build / Run" command,
so that I can enter data at the prompt and that this data is processed.
i.e.
if I enter
takeoff()
I get the expected
true
as answer.

** Experienced behaviour:;
I may indeed enter data by keyboard at the prompt.
but it looks as if the data is not processed,
i.e.
if I enter
takeoff()
I don´t get any response, especially not the expected "true" as answer.

Is this a bug, or a misunderstanding of me about the debugger or Javascript / Node.js debugging features?

To be honest, different console windows for run and debug is not the expected user experience, as known from most other debuggers ( e.g. Eclipse, Visual Studio..)

Sincerely
Rolf
Last edited by hemmerling on Sat Aug 15, 2015 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6372
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: CodeLite: Keyboard Input doesn´t work in the "Output Vie

Post by eranif »

is this still true for using 8.2.1?
Because it should display anything in the "Output" view ...

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Post Reply